674 Sacramento St 
San Francisco, CA, 94111-2510
415-788-2234


Ratings people have voted

AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(39)   

Reviewed by: Pan P. on: 3/7/2013 2:32:00 AM
one word - cockroaches
Reviewed by: Marylouise R. on: 2/22/2013 4:16:00 PM
Yummy food! Took a couple coworkers here for lunch and they fell in love. We ended up eating upstairs and the food came up quickly. One of them said it was the best Chinese chicken salad she had ever had. The chicken fried rice was great. My friend also loves the Mongolian beef over rice. I've never had a bad meal here.
Reviewed by: Manny B. on: 2/17/2013 9:40:00 PM
Great authencity. I had shrimp with tofu and some other dish and was great value for money. They cook the food right in front of you which I guess adds to the appeal. Its on the hot side for taste and a lot of the deep fried stuff like tofu and chicken are all pre-fried and are in big bags of plastic. Thats the reality of chinese wok cooking.
Reviewed by: Chris R. on: 2/6/2013 9:47:00 PM
I really like this place. Old school, delicious, prices are pretty good too. I got the Marty's Special. Really good dish with chicken, veggies and smoked ham. Right around (I think under) $10 and gave me enough food for 2 days. I will definitely go back.
Reviewed by: Phil G. on: 1/13/2013 7:47:00 AM
Oh, how I miss this option. When I lived and worked nearby we ate lunch here too often. It became a source of pounds and inches.This is a dive with abrupt service and amazing food.
Reviewed by: Peter C. on: 12/30/2012 8:46:00 PM
Had lunch there today!Fantastic meat pies, make sure you order one for the table. They make a great starter, and you absolutely won't be sorry. The dishes are spicy, the service is friendly, and the wait time is minimal. I also appreciate that they pay attention to your water glass and make sure to refill when you are low.Great lunch option for those in CBD, just don't be surprised if the place is full!
Reviewed by: Dyl H. on: 12/29/2012 7:07:00 PM
how can you not love his place.
Reviewed by: Nick J. on: 12/27/2012 3:02:00 AM
Dropped in on a random lunch to see how another hole-in-the-wall fared. I went for some kung pao shrimp and my boy grabbed a chicken dish that now escapes me. It was nothing memorable. I remember that. The food is ok, nothing to boast. The service and size of the place is where it falls. It is SF, and it is a hole-in-the-wall, but it's still unsatisfying when you have to make sure you're literally not bumping elbows with another guest who isn't part of your party sharing a table with you. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone and that's what any restaurant really comes down to.
Reviewed by: Charlie F. on: 12/6/2012 7:14:00 PM
No frills, but sincerely really good. My coworker had me order the mabu tofu...I hate tofu, but this converted me. It was amazing. Dumplings and the eggplant with meat sauce were also delicious.
Reviewed by: Jenny K. on: 11/18/2012 2:01:00 PM
Cannot stay away! Really delicious, super friendly and quick :)
Reviewed by: Sonia S. on: 11/15/2012 12:33:00 PM
best kung pao!!
Reviewed by: Ana C. on: 10/30/2012 1:56:00 AM
Great place for lunch when you are in the SF Financial District. I love their Kung Pao Shrimp. Its a popular place, so go early to get a seat.
Reviewed by: Heather P. on: 7/31/2012 5:01:00 AM
I had a quick lunch with my Mom. The service is quick and cheerful. Upon entering, everything smelled and looked great. I had high hopes about it being real Hunanese food and I was not disappointed. Beautiful flavors and textures. We ordered Eggplant cooked in the style of hot pot (I forget the actual dish name) and Pork with Cabbage (same, re the name, something like "homestyle pork").I plan on returning with a large group so we can order and try more dishes!They also have a great counter at the back if you are eating solo and you can watch them cook!
Reviewed by: Bud H. on: 5/12/2012 9:55:00 PM
The kung pao shrimp at this place is fantastic. As are the beef and green beans. You pretty much can't go wrong with any meal but those are two of my favs.
Reviewed by: Jennifer S. P. on: 5/11/2012 5:35:00 PM
Great food and the service was very quick and efficient. We sat upstairs which was a little warm, but it was an unusually warm day in the city so it was a bit understandable.My only complaint would be that we ordered three dishes and soup, but the dishes came out one at a time instead of at the same time so we actually forgot that we had more food coming and were almost done eating when the last dish came out.Otherwise it is a good stop in fi di.
Reviewed by: Rick A. on: 1/27/2012 2:05:00 AM
A must for us, when in the bay area.Food:Delicious. I haven't been disappointed yet. They use the smaller shrimp in most of the shrimp dishes, not a negative or knock, but rather you get plenty of them in your dish.Environment:A definite dive, but this is the nostalgic charm of the joint. Rubbing elbows with natives and an ear shot of everyone's conversation. It might bug some, but I could careless.Price:For a family of four, we walk out with about a $70 - 80 of damage. We eat family style and share about 5 to 6 dishes.Parking:Public structure parking, good luck finding street parking. I'd recommend parking near Union Square, if visiting the City, and walking from there through Chinatown. The walk will get your appetite going, and afterwards walk the meal off back to Union Square while doing some shopping.Bon Appetit!
Reviewed by: SF U. on: 1/25/2012 5:45:00 PM
How is it that most of the Chinese food in Chinatown is gross and Americanized? Granted this is financial district, however why anyone attempts chinatown is beyond us.Henry's is hands down like been in Hong Kong! We order everything spicy... Still have yet to have an average meal. Staff is so friendly and remembers you immediately. Love the beef with string beans, however the entire menu is solid.Huge fans!!!
Reviewed by: Contributor on:
dishes at this Chinese mini-chain have a faithful Being closer to the hustle and bustle of downtown, this location is a busier lunchtime spot than, say, the Noe Valley venue. But the menu that's made Henry's an SF classic stays on par: giant plates of noodles, smoked meats (made on ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 1996-09-18
The location on Sacramento is pretty much just for lunch. The menu is a little smaller than the other Henry's Hunan. Great place for lunch. Bring a towel because all of those spices will make you break out in a sweat. ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 1996-12-13
One of my all time favorites. There are times when my wife and I get overwhelmed with the desire for a "Hunan fix" and only Henry's will do. We get in our car and drive the 16 miles(across the Bay Bridge), eat, then turn around and go home. ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 1998-01-21
IMHO, this is one of the finest Chinese restaurants in the city, and probably the best Hunan Chinese restaurant. Even if you don't love spicy food, you will be amazed at the richness of vegetables, the blending of their seasonings, ...?
Reviewed by: punks on: 2004-11-04
that is going to quench that chinese craving. This is the spot. Authentic hunan food with some spice, smoke and fresh veggies. I recommend Marty's special with the chicken, smoked ham and scallops. While I'm suggestng dishes, everyone seems to love the Diana appetizer but really, ...?
Reviewed by: chris1 on: 2005-01-14
had. I love the Hot & Sour Chicken, I can't get enough. Extra spicy for me. The steamed dumplings are a nice alternative to traditional pot stickers. It's always busy at lunchtime, so I recommend getting there early or ordering take out. ...?
Reviewed by: Sophie's Aunt on: 2006-11-30
at Hunan 100% more oily than it used to be? Good flavors but the swimming in oil aspect put me off my feed. Same lightning fast service as ever. Good value, but hold the peanut oil! ...?
Reviewed by: JasonS0962 on: 2007-03-27
of heart, as the spices and garlic alone are enough to kill the average child. But for those into bold flavor slightly off the beaten path of regular Chinese take-out, Henry's is top notch. (Definitely go for the take-out option. ...?
Reviewed by: Rayna415 on: 2007-04-16
The seating is similar to that of a cafeteria. When you walk in, you seat yourself on any of the 3 floors. The 1st floor looked a little frightening, so we hiked up to the 2nd, which was even scarier. We should have left, but thought the ...?
Reviewed by: TomK7852 on: 2007-07-07
the place. However, if you want good hot Chinese this is your place. Ask for the Kung Pow Chichen extra spicey "How you used to make it", and you will be in hot heaven. Love it for what it is, straight forward good Chinese. ...?
Reviewed by: JamesM9230 on: 2008-02-25
location: you wouldn't want to have dinner here, but for lunch, this is the place for spectacularly good, very spicy Chinese food at bargain prices. ...?
Reviewed by: TracyF9159 on: 2008-03-08
manner. EVERYTHING on the menu sparkles from scallops to eggplant--fresh food, great flavors. Pot stickers and onion cakes are scrumptious. Lots to choose from for non-pepper eaters. Ask for extra spicy or without spice and they'll adapt to ...?
Reviewed by: MaranaZ9255 on: 2008-03-09
chinese cuisine. Good portions, the kind of restaurant if you're serious about just eating good no frills chinese food. The interior is very dark, little natural light and a little dingy-looking. Service is to the point and very fast. ...?
Reviewed by: FoodTaster on: 2008-04-26
for over 35 years. It is so disappointing to see go down hill. The food is not longer spice hot. I remember sweating while eating. I think over the year that so many people found the food so hot they have complete made it very mild.I do have the cook book, ...?
Reviewed by: Hearow on: 2009-03-05
for many years. My tastes have changed over the years but I used to love the Meat pie & smoked ham. Now I stay away from pork so I opt for the spicy rock cod filets, curry chicken or orange chicken. All the locations are run by a different family member ...?
Reviewed by: PeterC6071 on: 2009-03-24
, back in the day. Now coasting on its laurels, but reliably consistent, if not innovative. Hits all the notes of formica-table Chinese restaurant classics: spicy, salty, oily, and piping hot. Can't live without it. ...?
Reviewed by: G. ScottO4466 on: 2009-03-28
Slow SLOW. For lunch be there by 11:30 or be prepared for a long wait for a table. The velvet chicken is sublime and their signature smoked pork is worth the wait. ...?
Reviewed by: EdwardL433219 on: 2009-03-28
empire is a cozy room on Church Street near 29th. It is managed by two affable brothers, Jeff and Eddie. The food is solid Henry's fare, ie, potstickers, hot and sour soup,and a good selection of spicy Hunan dishes The decor is welcoming and service is warm and friendly. ...?
Reviewed by: SBR233 on: 2009-05-28
30PM-wasn't crowded at all -service fine. Food was prepared instantly - no slowness. Everything was superb - best Hunan we've eaten - Marty's dish with smoked ham and chicken was unique and delicious, Hot and sour soup VERY good, Others: Sweet&Sour rock cod filet-some heat but ...?
Reviewed by: Maryann S. on: 2009-09-20
We ate here for lunch and it was very packed and the line was long, but that's when you know it's good..the onion cakes are good and so are the pork dishes ...?
Reviewed by: Homer O on: 2009-09-26
went for breckfast, thought I would have a bowl of noodles in soup, but they don't have anything like that. Has some spicy tofu with chicken and my wife had noodles with pork. We shared. Both dishes were very ono. ...?
Reviewed by: Geoff on: 2009-10-14
I have been eating here since the mid 80's. The food is so good I often dream about being there. I can still smell the hot and sour beef for a few moments after waking. ...?