1307 Sutter St 
San Francisco, CA, 94109-5415
415-771-2142


Ratings people have voted

AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(47)   

Reviewed by: Juan C. on: 3/25/2013 6:20:00 AM
Really good Chinese food at a good price! Really fast too.
Reviewed by: Kato D. on: 3/22/2013 4:40:00 AM
They never add msg, and their sesame beef is fantastic. Their egg drop soup is one of the best in the city. Thick, eggy and just enough heat. Great for foggy SF days. Nancy owns the place, and although we've only eaten delivery, I hope to try in-dining. The portions look bigger and fresh is always best. I only give 5 stars to establishments I frequent and deserve this rating. Enjoy.
Reviewed by: Kristin H. on: 3/18/2013 7:57:00 PM
Ordered delivery tonight, based on the reviews. Quoted a time of 1 hour, but was more like 1 1/2 hours, which wasn't a huge deal, but it was also 1030pm, so a bit crazy it was so late.Now onto the food. The food was 'meh'. The wonton soup was good, but the broth was super salty (good thing I like salty items!). The chicken lo mein was a waste of money. It was oversauced, and only had chicken and noodles. I figured there would be some onions or something else mixed in, nope, just chicken and noodles. The ma pu tofu was bland, as bland could be. There was no heat to the dish! You would think with all of the red sauce that came with it, it would have been spicy, but surprisingly no!Guess I'll keep looking for Chinese delivery, as this place didn't satisfy my craving in the least bit.
Reviewed by: Marakia R. on: 3/14/2013 7:22:00 AM
I think this will be the only Chinese Food I ever eat again! So clean! So Yummy! The best hot and sour soup I have ever tried in my life! Who Knew it could be spicy. The mongolian beef and lo mein were highlights and the service was great. Will be back many times over!
Reviewed by: Beth K. on: 3/11/2013 9:46:00 AM
I eat at The Wok Shop about 5x a month. When my friends visit from out of town and we want something quick to eat or delivery, I always take them here ... and they love it.The food is great (not full of sodium like other Chinese eateries) and the price is on the low side for the City. Can't recommend The Wok Shop enough.Nancy, the owner, is a jewel. She's gotten to know me over the past year and calls me by my first name.
Reviewed by: Darren A. on: 3/9/2013 7:50:00 PM
Been here a few times, enjoyed the food and service. However the past few times I have tried to order delivery they have made it difficult by telling me it would take a "really long time" & suddenly won't take credit cards when they have before! Boo! There's loads of great Chinese restaurants in town, don't need to order from a place that doesn't want my business! Good luck to them.
Reviewed by: Doug L. on: 3/7/2013 3:42:00 PM
We've been coming to the Wok Shop Cafe for over 10 years and the food has been consistently great. The owners are some of the nicest people and genuinely want you to really enjoy your meal. We used to live nearby and dine here at least once a week, but now drive across town just to get take-out here. We really like that the staple dishes we order always come with a lot of chunky, fresh vegetables.
Reviewed by: Alina I. on: 2/11/2013 7:07:00 AM
This place ... has my heart.Try the Mongolian Beef and their Wonton Soup - can't go wrong.I always have it delivered and last night it took them 1 hour 45 min, which is way too long (but worth it!)
Reviewed by: Matt G. on: 1/30/2013 2:17:00 PM
I came here for dinner with a congested and stuffy nose, which does not happen too often in recent years.As I walked by, I see a ton of pictures of the popular dishes posted on the restaurant's window-front.As I walked in, I needed to pushed a heavy wooden door. But the good thing about the heavy doors, it prevents any noise and car-exhaust from heavy traffic along Van Ness Avenue from coming into the restaurant.From the menu, I ordered the Governor's Chicken. I am not sure if the dish is named after ex-California governor: Arnold Schwarzenegger. But for $8.95, the poultry dish has Fried chicken piece and fresh vegetables in a thick and spicy Hunan-style gravy. The friendly lady, that tooked my order, forewarned me about the dish being too spicy. The dish was indeed spicy, but tolerable enough to eat. I also order a bottle of Budweiser for $3.00 to help extinguish the spicy poultry dish. My poultry dish: http://www.yelp.com/biz_…I also ordered a Vegetable fried rice dish for $5.95 with my poultry dish. Most Chinese restaurants uses frozen vegetables in their fried rice. But this restaurant uses fresh vegetables to blend with the colorful side. From my picture you will see the sliced carrots and cut up broccoli. Indeed I like fried rice from here. My plate of fried rice: http://www.yelp.com/biz_…As I was enjoying and enduring the spiciness from my meal, I was looking at the beautiful fish tank.I just found out that the restaurant do deliver to the Russian Hill and Pacific Heights area; my area. "Sorry not to your neck of the woods, folks!"Great Hunan food and service. Plus my nose is cleared up and I can smell anything now!
Reviewed by: Zehra A. on: 1/26/2013 9:52:00 PM
Wok Shop has been my go to for Chinese takeout/delivery since I used to work right across the street from this place back in 2007. While my dine in and take out days are long gone, I still hit up this spot for reliably delicious delivery.The food is flavorful and great quality. None of this greasy spoon chinese delivery crap that tends to make you sick later that night. I've tried a lot of different things on the menu, and whats nice is that if you are stumped on what to order, the lady answering the phone is always helpful with suggestions and descriptions.Speaking of, the lady who takes the orders (seems that she's the owner?) is wonderful. None of the usual yelling at you over the phone, curt, short temperament. She doesn't cut you off, she's patient to let you ask questions, and she never seems hurried EVEN when I hear the phone ringing off the hook in the background, she calmly takes a moment to put them on hold, finish taking my order and get back to the other delivery orders.Good food, great owner. I wish this place was not cash only, but I make it a point to keep some lying around if I get a Wok Shop craving.
Reviewed by: Asuka S. on: 1/25/2013 7:19:00 PM
I'm confused about all the great reviews this place has. The food was so bland. The only redeeming factor was the great customer service from the lady who took care of me (hence getting three stars instead of just two).I had the Governor's Chicken Kew with white rice and Hot and Sour Soup. The soup was just so-so, the chicken was flavorless and the rice seemed over cooked or something. With tip this came to $17.70 - certainly no deal.Also, the Governor's Chicken Kew was labeled as being spicy. When I order I choose from three levels of spiciness. I like spicy food so I requested it to be hot. It wasn't even in the least bit spicy - at all. This is something that not just Wok Shop is guilty of, but most Chinese restaurants are for that matter. So many things on their menus have that little pepper next to them signifying that the dish is spicy. I have NEVER had spicy Chinese food. Really people, you think your Orange Chicken is spicy? You can't be serious. I have no idea what's going on with that mass delusion of spiciness.If you're looking for some Chinese food, I would try any other place before I return to Wok Shop.
Reviewed by: Megan K. on: 1/21/2013 12:20:00 PM
I've been re-discovering Chinese food through the Wok Shop Cafe. They're crazy quick at take-out, with food usually ready in 10-15 minutes. Nancy is quite friendly and lovely and handles the dining room and the phone efficiently. My go-tos are Mu Shu Pork or Chicken and Spicy String Beans, but I've enjoyed their soups, noodles, and various spicy meat dishes.
Reviewed by: J K. on: 1/3/2013 10:53:00 AM
Tempted to give this place two stars for the food, but the woman working there was really friendly so three stars it is.We came by and placed an order to go. Ordered the shrimp in lobster sauce and the fish with chinese greens. Both were okay (e.g. edible), but very mediocre. I think we might have fared better if we ordered stir fried meat and noodle dishes. Or maybe not. If I ever return, I will give one or two of those a try.They were empty inside right at peak dinner time, but the phone was ringing non-stop with delivery orders.
Reviewed by: Heather R. on: 12/6/2012 2:00:00 AM
Loved, loved, LOVED the five taste chicken!!! I would recommend this so much!! It reminds me of sweet and sour chicken with the sweet and sour sauce on the chicken and a bit of spice that is light- not overwhelming. I really liked the soft crunch to the battered chicken, will defiantly come back for this chicken. I also got the chicken with broccoli in brown sauce, it was not as spectacular as the five taste chicken but I will experiment with sauces.
Reviewed by: Daniel D. on: 12/2/2012 4:46:00 AM
Excellent chinese take-out at a great price point and with friendly service.Docked one star for two reasons:1) The decor is pretty basic.2) I had to pick-up the food myself because delivery had a 1hr 20m wait.
Reviewed by: Michelle A. on: 11/29/2012 8:27:00 PM
I've been ordering from this place for the past 2-3yrs and the food is okay. It's quick and close to my BF's house so we go there. But last night we ordered 3 dishes for pick up, $25+. When we got home, we noticed one of our boxes was only 2/3 full ( Beef Chow Fun). It was a good inch below the top and the food wasn't even packed in. I've noticed recently that portions have really been reduced and the amount of meat is sparse. I give this place two stars since the owner is nice but I suggest you make sure all your take out portions are full.
Reviewed by: P S. on: 11/20/2012 2:07:00 PM
This is my favorite relatively cheap and good Chinese place in San Francisco. There are many great places around the city, though none which are as fast and have as much parking outside.The garlic chicken/shrimp and sesame chicken dishes are highly recommended. We usually have a good conversation with the lady at the counter and she's also very generous with pots of green tea. You can tell that the wonton soup is freshly made, the overall quality of ingredients was high in every dish that I tried.
Reviewed by: Thach N. on: 11/3/2012 6:01:00 PM
Agh I intially was gonna give this one 5 stars but upon a second visit it has been docked. here is my breakdown:Environment: 4.5 stars! given the exterior, you are really pleasantly surprised by how spacious, clean, and pretty the inside is. i was expecting a hole in the wall.Staff: 4 stars, really nice lady who always serves us. no complaints here!Food: 3 stars. Okay here is where it gets tricky! the food quality is great, i really enjoyed it. but a couple bad experiences took ti down. first, the portion was kind of small. my friends and i may have been extra hungry maybe but we just were left wanted a lot more, even though we all got our own entrees, we were all still hungry. secondly, their honey walnut shrimp is a bit battery/moist. i like my honey walnut shrimp to be nicely crispy and deep fried. just a personal preference which brought the score down for me.
Reviewed by: Vanesa Z. on: 10/30/2012 4:03:00 AM
My go-to Chinese food restaurant.I started by ordering delivery from here. Mongolian beef and chicken and broccoli are my usual orders. Delivery was fast (30 Minutes for a Friday night) and the food was still hot. Cash only for deliveries, so I switched to take out for those nights when I don't have enough cash. I walked in on a weeknight and the place was empty. Almost creepy-like. Nancy was fast and so, so sweet. A couple weeks later I came in on a Friday and the place was almost full! This is when I decided me and the boyfriend needed to come in.We finally dined in last night and it was fantastic. Food is obviously delish, I already knew that. But Nancy was the sweetest server, and with her broken arm (Get better soon Nancy!) she was hustlin' around the place giving everyone the best service. You go girl! Service is fast and friendly, and the prices aren't too expensive.Side-note. I agree with a couple other reviews that the food can be salty, but I expect it from a lot of Chinese restaurants.
Reviewed by: Junel S. on: 10/26/2012 9:52:00 AM
I ordered two things (to-go) from this place & enjoyed them both. The first thing I ordered was the chicken with bitter melon ($6.75), very good. By the way, most of their lunch plates come with rice, and if you eat in, it also comes with soup I believe.The second thing I ordered, which I enjoyed even more, was the Wok Shop Lo Mein Combination - probably one of the best Lo Mein I have ever had. It was so good & the portion for $6.75 was enough for two meals, maybe even three. It had beef, chicken and shrimp and was tastefully seasoned and the noodles were cooked perfectly. So good, I'll probably order it again my next visit.Minimum delivery is $25. I've only gotten things to-go & it only takes about 10-15 minutes for pick-up. But it seems like a lovely place to eat-in too.
Reviewed by: Irenka P. on: 10/16/2012 2:12:00 AM
Five stars because they're open late (til 10:30), the service was fast and polite and the food was yummy. Just ran in here to pick up some quick take out. I placed my order over the phone and it was ready in under 10 minutes for pick-up! The woman working was so polite and kind and the soup was perfect. I ordered hot and sour and wor won ton and both were delicious. Prices were very reasonable. Great take out and I'm going to make this my go-to take out Chinese place from now on!
Reviewed by: Barry B. on: 9/28/2012 3:06:00 PM
Kung pao chicken was okMongolian beef was goodShrimp fried rice was disappointingFast delivery. Said 45 min, arrived in 30. Very nice delivery man.
Reviewed by: Yishan W. on: 9/18/2012 3:44:00 AM
I just called this place and ordered some delivery food. I haven't gotten it yet (it's been 5 minutes) but I wanted to write a review about the lady who took my order.This person had the most pleasant and unstressed voice I've ever heard on the phone at a Chinese restaurant. Usually they are barking at you in Engrish over a noisy background. She had the usual accent, sure, but it was just the most soothing and relaxed voice asking me what food I wanted to order, my delivery address, etc, all in dulcet tones. Whoever this is should be doing voiceover work or something on Chinese radio and television.I will update this review later with the quality of the food.---Update: Reading other reviews seems to corroborate what I experienced. Apparently this is "Nancy," the owner of the place. Awesome!---Update after dinner: The food was good. Delivery took a bit of time (1+ hour), but maybe that's because we were ordering on a Saturday evening.
Reviewed by: Vladimir P. on: 8/28/2012 6:18:00 PM
The best Chinese food in the area - fast, cheap, tasty, always fresh. And Nancy is very nice person. Chicken&shrimp is my favorite dish.
Reviewed by: Erich S. on: 7/30/2012 9:25:00 PM
I've searched high and low and this is the best all around chinese place in nob hill. The delivery guy knows me now and I'm kind of proud about that. Though I never have change and I'm pretty sure I always stiff him on a tip. (Sorry about that man)I get the mongolian beef, kung pao chicken and hot and sour soup a lot. I dont know if those are the best, but thats kind of my "usual", you know what I mean? I did have some shrimp with lobster sauce at a friends house and it was seriously awesome. Might add that to the "usual".This place is good. Everyone's nice and no matter what the dish, you can count on it being pretty delicious. No regretful orders going on and if I'm ordering chinese for a crowd, I know I can depend on this place. And you cant depend on much these days, you know?
Reviewed by: Ileana S. on: 7/14/2012 12:55:00 PM
This place is very popular with my coworkers, so I've eaten here a few times, but haven't been very impressed myself. The food is very salty (especially dishes like Beef with String Beans and Sweet & Sour Chicken). The Veggie Lo Mein is pretty good though, just make sure you have a jug of water on hand to stay hydrated! So, so thirsty!The service is friendly and warm, so I'll probably keep trying to find something more palatable on the menu and update this review when I find a winner.
Reviewed by: Sebastian S. on: 7/4/2012 3:40:00 PM
After a year-long teaching stint in Kyoto, when I returned to SF, Wok Shop was the first place I visited.Why?Because for an entire year I craved Nancy's Sesame Beef. Her sublime Mango Chicken. Her over-the-top, off the charts Pot Stickers.Folks, this is the real deal.Great food, served by either the always friendly Nancy or her trusted sidekick Peter (yes, he's the guy who delivers your Wok Shop order to your house.)It was only while feasting at Nancy's table that I felt like I was really back home. (Sorry Mom!)
Reviewed by: Jade F. on: 6/12/2012 3:38:00 AM
This place is pretty solid -- we order take-out from them every now and then. Their food is tasty, when you find what you like, and better than other Chinese we've tried in the city... which sadly, that isn't saying much.Here's what we like:- egg rolls- general tso's chicken- sesame chicken- moo shu pork- five spice chicken- chicken & broccoli (I like it with black bean sauce)- combination rice noodlesThings we didn't like:- vegetable fried rice (too much veggies, not enough rice, and veggies are large in size)- sweet & sour chicken (onion and bell pepper practically raw, and again too much/too large)- shrimp & scallops in black bean sauce (shrimp was soggy, scallops were just terrible)- sweet & sour sauce (extremely watered down)As long as you can find what tickles your fancy on their menu, then they're great. The people are friendly too!
Reviewed by: Gerardo C. on: 6/8/2012 6:37:00 AM
This is my default chinese place for a night when I do not want to cook and I'm not eating out. Or maybe you want to cuddle, eat chinese and watch a movie :)The lady who answers the phone is super sweet/funny which is the reason I even started eating from this place.I see this place more as a delivery/take out place than a restaurant where you go to sit and eat.This is what I usually order:Crab rangoonsWok Shop fried riceFive flavor chickenSalt and Pepper pork ribsAn asian friend of mine described this place as really good cheap asian fusion food. I LOVE myself some Wok Shop Cafe food :)
Reviewed by: Jenn B. on: 5/14/2012 10:19:00 PM
My friends and I were looking for a quick, inexpensive dinner after an event at the Regency and ended up here. When we walked it, we were really skeptical because this place is bare bones. Restaurant City Level 1. I mean, there's a fish tank, a bar, and a few paintings, but it still felt very empty.We only ordered three things: sesame beef, Wok Shop fried rice (pork, chicken and shrimp) and hot and sour soup. The sesame beef was delicious and the two other things weren't bad. The total for all three items was a mere $24.What was most memorable were the few people who dropped in that knew the lady working by name. One girl came in to pick up a to-go order and the lady said, "Tell Paul (assuming this is her husband) I said hi!" People in the neighborhood must really love this place.
Reviewed by: Adam R. on: 5/10/2012 10:26:00 AM
I had a wonderful time - the woman who served us was super attentive and friendly! The menu had unique items not found as your usual Chinese joint. The friendliness and good food make a big impression on me. I will be back!The only caution is that many Yelpers complain about slow delivery. Our server actually mentioned this, warning us they have "busy nights" to avoid. Perhaps they could hire an extra delivery person?
Reviewed by: Jenn Z. on: 5/9/2012 8:21:00 AM
The food is alright.I really love the lady that takes my order over the phone though. I've talked to her about three times, and this time she called me "honey". Love her.
Reviewed by: John M. on: 3/27/2012 8:31:00 PM
Pretty disappointed after having lunch once and getting takeout once from this restaurant.I had some kind of chicken, forgot the name, Mandarin Chicken maybe which was just fried and then slathered in some generic sweet/spicy sauce, tasted not much better than the Asian food from Safeway deli. And no other ingredients, no creativity whatsoever.Second time got the fried rice which was very bland, no savor at all, and the Orange Beef which was just terrible-- poor quality meat with no vegetables, onions or any other ingredient in a flavorless sweet sauce.Both times just thought it was typical bland/unhealthy Americanized Chinese food, I might expect it in the South or Midwest but what a let-down for a well-reviewed place in San Francisco. 2 stars because at least the service was efficient and I didn't get sick.
Reviewed by: Alan B. on: 3/27/2012 1:26:00 AM
Oh Yelpers, you led me astray. I hate to dump on a family owned place, but ours was not a good experience.They do not take credit cards any longer.We ordered pot stickers, sesame beef, string bean chicken, Kung Pao shrimp, & and chicken fried rice to be delivered on a rainy Saturday a bit before 6.Over an hour later, a poor guy on a scooter shows up with the food, rather soggy.Overall, the food was unremarkable, very average fare.The pot stickers were no where to be seen. The string bean chicken had no chicken. The shrimp in the Kung Pao shrimp were long past their prime. The chicken fried rice had not been fried as far as we could tell. I have no idea why so many things were off, but the kitchen was having a bad night.If we had known, we would have gone to Eliza's instead. The additional cost and having to pick up our food in the rain would have been worth it. Plus Eliza's only takes 30 minutes.
Reviewed by: Michael K. on: 3/22/2012 5:57:00 PM
I came here towards closing and was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food. I was overwhelmed by the charm and hospitality from Nancy. The restaurant had already closed when I finished my entree and Nancy asked me if I was still hungry. She said she'd get the kitchen going again if I wanted something else. Wow!Dine-in or delivery, I'm looking forward to my next experience with Wok Shop Cafe.
Reviewed by: Luke S. on: 2/17/2012 1:33:00 AM
I chose this place with help from yelp. I dined in. Everybody was spot on in their reviews. There was good, fresh tasting food, it was obviously family run and the owner was indeed nice, and the 5 taste chicken was a good choice.Just one thing I want to emphasize. It is VERY quiet in there. I went on a Friday night and there was only one other table eating (right next to us haha..a little awkward but fine) and the place is a good sized space. It seemed cavernous with all the quiet, and I bet I could have heard a pin drop from across the room. But whatever. Everything was good. But I just thought people should know!
Reviewed by: Vandana N. on: 1/22/2012 3:55:00 PM
Delivered within a reasonable time.Tofu mu shu = great.Mongolian lamb chow fun = sweet, despite us asking for "extra spicy".Chicken with spicy garlic sauce = same as chow fun.Maybe we caught them at a night when they were out of spice. It's back to Yum Yum for us.
Reviewed by: Patrick D. on: 1/15/2012 2:41:00 PM
It's hard to rate any restaurant, and especially a Chinese restaurant, after one visit; there are too many old favorites on the menu and too little time and money to try everything. That said, the sesame chicken I tried was more fragrant and less oily than any other I've had before. The owners were gracious, the hot and sour soup was equal parts hot and sour, and the food came out quick.I think those are enough reasons to make my way to Wok Shop's neighborhood again.
Reviewed by: samjena on: 2002-03-20
Stopped in on Friday March 15, 2002. To my surprise, new owners were old friends. Great food and spirits. If you haven't been there recently, you must stop back. You'll love it. ...?
Reviewed by: mjstone323 on: 2006-02-08
I feel so lucky to have this exceptional Chinese restaurant nearby. The hosts are friendly and helpful, the food is *excellent*, and the prices are very reasonable. The restaurant itself isn't terribly fancy, but it's above average. ...?
Reviewed by: Jason D. on: 2006-04-29
Chinatown is full of all sorts of mysterious basement warehouses full of dirt cheap imports �C cookware, chopsticks �C you name it. Then, there's the Wok Shop, which defies popular convention by being an overpriced shop in Chinatown. ...?
Reviewed by: bevymcm on: 2006-05-17
Ultra-fresh food (with no MSG), charming service, and lots of space to spread out, this is really one of the best in SF. Step inside the lovely large restaurant and Nancy (the owner) or Peter will welcome you to the Wok Shop's big, well ...?
Reviewed by: Liz on: 2006-07-05
I have been frequenting the Wok Shop Cafe since I was around five years old, and the food is always fantastic. It is not over-priced and everything I've ever ordered there has been exactly to my liking. The employees are always very ...?
Reviewed by: seattlecatherine on: 2007-03-15
Soup, Hot Garlic Chicken.... for great prices I'm always somewhat skeptical when I see rave reviews on Citysearch, for fear that they might be written by the owners' relatives/friends. Not this one, though! We're from the Northwest & have been to plenty of terrific Chinese restaurants. ...?
Reviewed by: sebastiansg on: 2007-10-01
When I moved back to San Francisco, this place soon became my favorite place for soul-satisfying food. I moved into lower Pacific Heights and the first thing I saw on the security gate was a pink menu flyer for Wok Shop. ...?
Reviewed by: Debbie C. on: 2008-05-21
The Wok Shop is the place to be when that craving for chinese food hits you. Great food - with super speedy service. They aim to please and have a pleasant staff. ...?
Reviewed by: Maryann S. on: 2009-09-20
Despite the taste of chinese food. This is the only place that my friend would eat chinese food. They have the best hot braised chicken. They have the best and excellent customer service ...?