13501 100Th Ave Ne Ste 18, Kirkland, WA, 98034 
425-821-1624
Full service

Business Hours:
Monday-Thursday:11:15am-9:30pm
Friday-Saturday:11:15am-10:00pm
Sunday:11:15am-9:30pm
Restaurant Location
Major city
Number of Employees
5+
Number of Seats
Average Price
$5.99-$7.99
Restaurant Type
Full service
Main Stream Americans
Offers
Dine-in
Takeout
$5.00-$10.00

Ratings 3 people have voted

Awards and Honors

15AVG:(5.0)
15AVG:(5.0)
15AVG:(5.0)
12AVG:(4.0)
For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top 100 Specialty  (2010)

Comments(51)   

Reviewed by: nancypotter65 on: 9/24/2016 6:54:31 PM
My husband and I ate dinner at Great China this evening. While the food was good, as I've experienced before (especially the Won ton Soup), I thought to ask our server if Great China uses MSG in their foods, especially the soup. His answer was "Yes". I am very disappointed to learn this. MSG is not a safe, nor natural, ingredient to be using and I do not want to be eating it. And this is not how you should be winning your awards. Please find a way to serve delicious entrees , soups and side dishes without using flavor enhancers. Then it will truly be healthful and natural and you deserve any awards you win. Thank you.
Reviewed by: vicsharma on: 5/7/2016 6:10:50 AM
Food is great, Owner is nice. It's just about service. I was looking at online menu and ordered the food for take out. Unfortunately, there prices were different than the menu price at the restaurant. When I brought it to their notice that I mentioned this price to order they didn't readjust my bill to reflect the online price. I don't how to say...winning a customer's loyalty for life is more important than small amount. Just a business tip...when you make a mistake in restaurant business then over compensate it...that will triple your revenue from that customer. Hope it helps.
Reviewed by: itzfitz on: 5/1/2016 3:44:52 PM
Our most recent visit was a terrible experience. The two servers were inadequate and thoroughly overworked. As a result, they proved far less than helpful. Even something as simple as filling our water glasses proved too much to ask. When our food arrived after nearly 30 minutes, the six of us noted that the platters were NOT the same size that we were used to. They were SIGNIFICANTLY smaller than those we generally enjoyed. The proof came at the end of the meal when we noted there were NO leftovers - even though few of us present even came close to being full or even satisfied.What really killed the dinner, though, was the fact that we never received two missing entrees. We desperately tried to get our server's attention, but the teenager ignored us stubbornly.When our server finally returned to our table - nearly 20 minutes after our tiny entrees arrived - she came not to check on us but to give us our bill. I pointed out that two of our six entrees never made it to our table. No apology was issued - rather it was met with a quick scribble of pen ink over the missing items from our bill and a less-than-sincere, "I will remove them from your bill."We have been going to Great China for nearly ten years. This was enough to for us to collectively decide as a group that we were done frequenting this restaurant if this is what we had to further look forward to.Over the 10 years of giving them our business (where we spent a minimum of $100 a visit), we decided that we were not getting our money's worth. Note how old the comments on are on this website. They refer to the OLD Great China. Not what you can look forward to today - NOW!Great China have lost - in us - a long-term customer.
Reviewed by: arielmackenziesoule on: 2014-11-28
Worst food I have ever eaten. It was nauseating.
Reviewed by: tom on: 11/19/2014 12:25:22 PM
Subject: “Great China Restaurant” Online business reportGreetings!I’m Tom. Do you want to know what customers are talking about your restaurant "Great China Restaurant" online? We make it simpler and a lot better for you. We enable tracking your business feedback from 10 local platforms which include Yelp, Foursquare, Tripadvisor etc and 5 social media sites like Facebook, Twitter and Google etc.You can now see "Great China Restaurant" all-in-one online business report via http://goo.gl/JjvsqQ as a first step. To know more about the product, sign up
Reviewed by: darlenebanks on: 8/6/2013 12:06:10 PM
Your on-line menu is in need of an update. The prices are less than what you actually charge. For instance, pot stickers are not $6.50 anymore, they are $6.95.Also - the last 2 times I've had take out orders, the fortune cookie was chewy - yuck.
Reviewed by: marelego on: 7/20/2013 2:48:18 PM
Ordering food is easy and fast. Great service and food always consistantly good. We are Great China customers for many years. Huge portions of fresh made home cooking. Enjoy
Reviewed by: vwalvatne on: 5/23/2013 12:23:33 PM
We have come to this restaurant for many years, however last night 05/22/13 the food was not wonderful as usual, we ordered almond fried chicken - which was way over battered and the gravy was bland, sweet and sour pork which was over cooked and the sauce we got tasted like ketchup, the special chow mien was ok. and we got another chicken dish - not sure what it was. then to top it off, I ended up not feeling well after eating the food. Very disappointed as we have always come to this restaurant for our Chinese food. Not sure what happened this time! Not sure we want to chance it and go back.
Reviewed by: spajohnnie on: 4/16/2013 8:30:45 PM
poor service. rude person taking order.
Reviewed by: Seann S. on: 3/26/2013 4:50:00 AM
Really conflicted about this review. I was ready to give a scathing review after awkwardly waiting more than 10 minutes to be seated or even acknowledged... But it was all forgiven once we got the food. I ordered the general tsos chicken and orange beef with sides of shrimp fried rice. The meat and fried rice were cooked absolutely perfectly, and the flavors of the sauces melded amazingly. I wished I didn't have to stop eating. If the service was a little more attentive and friendly, I would definitely give this place five stars. Perhaps next time I'll just have to order out.
Reviewed by: Veronica S. on: 3/18/2013 4:29:00 PM
Drove from Bellevue to Kirkland to try this place as me and my husband are on a quest to get the best fried rice, (if anyone has suggestions let me know) service was not to quick, our food was not ready as they had told us it would be. Food over all was ok fried rice was not spectacular. In fact I can't even remember it so I know it was not the best. Not recommended.
Reviewed by: Ava A. on: 2/14/2013 9:30:00 PM
I just moved to Kirkland, so I carefully perused yelp to find a new chinese place (old fave was Spicy Talk in Redmond). Everyone loved this place, so I decided to give it a go. I saw the odd dissenting reviews, but decided to ignore them in favor of the overwhelming praise. Ugh. Wish I hadn't. We got veggie spring rolls, hot and sour soup, snow pea chicken, and mongolian beef. The spring roll was OK, but the first bite was ruined because they gave me KETCHUP INSTEAD OF SWEET AND SOUR SAUCE. Ew. The hot and sour soup was tasteless, and thus, pointless. The mongolian beef people raved about tasted like chewy flour. Gross. The chicken was actually pretty good. The sauce was garlicky and tasty and there were lots of veggies. All the same, I won't be back. Surely one can do better around here!
Reviewed by: Gwen B. on: 1/9/2013 8:31:00 AM
I've eaten here twice and it's good solid Chinese. Not as good as my all time fave back home but the best I've had in or around Seattle. The General Tso's is delicious, though I really love the Crispy Eggplant in Garlic sauce. Just be forewarned, it doesn't stay crispy the next day. If you can visit before 3:30pm they have lunch specials that still give you loads of food but are easier on the wallet. My BF and I ordered three lunch specials one Sunday afternoon and then had leftovers for two days!
Reviewed by: C. M. on: 12/13/2012 1:07:00 PM
Have been to Great China twice, both times using an Entertainment coupon. The first time was on a Saturday evening - the place was really busy, and it took forever for a server to come to my table.The second time was around 2:00 on a Friday. One woman was working triple-duty as host, take-out order taker, and server. There were 2-3 tables near the kitchen that were heaped with dirty dishes.It was obvious that someone had cleared a bunch of lunchtime tables and piled all the dishes together. Pretty disgusting thing to see when you walk to your table. I wondered why one of the other staff hadn't moved them into the kitchen and out of sight of the customers.The restaurant was nearly empty, and I was served much more quickly this time. However, the food was not so great. I'd ordered sesame beef and a mixed seafood dish with prawns, scallops, and vegetables. The beef, breaded, then dipped in a sticky sauce, was tasty; however, it was incredibly poor quality. Every bit was full of gristle, which I ended up repeatedly spitting into a napkin. Yuck.The seafood dish was partly okay. The prawns were fine, but the scallops were, like the beef in the other dish, very poor quality. They were very small and tough. (Picture what large, tender scallops at a fine restaurant would be like, and these were the opposite.)Granted, this is nowhere near a "fine" restaurant, and its prices reflect that fact. It's not expensive, and servings are adequately sized. But even the rice seems cheap (kind-of rough, vs. the smooth variety you find at most Asian restaurants). Seems to me that you really get what you pay for here: cheap prices for low grade ingredients. I will not be back.
Reviewed by: Will S. on: 11/27/2012 10:45:00 PM
The plusses:Fairly generous portionsThat's about it. It wasn't bad, it just wasn't very good and it was exceptionally greasy, even for chinese food. The fried rice was decent, the egg rolls were dismal, the orange chicken was decent, the General Tso chicken was at the low end of acceptable for me, personally.We had this to go, ate a plate each at home and then tossed the rest; it was a waste of 35 bucks if I'm being honest. I should have had a local thai place deliver. I haven't tried everything on the menu, so it's possible I picked the 4 worst entree's on the menu, but I doubt it.
Reviewed by: Chris M. on: 11/22/2012 5:43:00 AM
Great china is just a black away from my house, and is always our go to for Chinese food. The staff is a bit... terse... but given how busy they always are, it's a bit understanding.The mongolian beef and the chicken lettuce wraps are hands down the best on the menu, and I defy you to resist a second helping of either one.The one inconsistent item on their menu is the won ton soup, it seems to change from batch to batch, varying in deliciousness. I take it as a good sign that it's made fresh, however, and I never let it stop me from ordering it.
Reviewed by: Yana V. on: 11/6/2012 12:52:00 AM
To reiterate what every other comment below me said, the portions are in fact huge. Sometimes we'll order a meal and it feels as if theres too much meat on the plate - which isn't a bad thing at all ;) Plus the meat is delicious. General Tso Chicken = AMAZINGReason I give it 4 not 5 stars is because of the service, which so far has been trend in the comments below me. we have been here 3 times but the first time was a disaster. Ordered about 60$ worth of take-out to go, went there to pick it up, came home, noticed literally half of the meal was missing, had to drive all the way back, and when we came back the server did not apologize for anything, grabbed food from the back of the store without reheating it and handed it to us basically pushing us out without so much as offering a free complimentary soda. Even one of the customers looked at us and said "wow they really don't want you guys in here with the way they're rushing you out"... after that no one in my family wanted to return but the food was so good that i had to give it another chance and had a much better experience.Overall, the food is good, the customer service can be good when it wants to be, but all in all I would recommend this place to anyone who asked
Reviewed by: Briana B. on: 9/28/2012 1:10:00 AM
This place is great. Fast service. The wonton soup was a delicious broth poured over extremely fresh vegetables, water chestnuts, and huge wontons. The general tso's chicken was also superb with big, thickly breaded pieces of chicken piled high and doused in the familiar brown sauce we all love. The orange beef was also a happy surprise as it was thick strips of beef you could nearly cut cleanly with the side of your fork. Very little chewiness, and culminated in a nice little kick from the fresh orange peel hiding in the sauce. The pork chow mien was fresh as well, with - dare I say - nearly too much meat: that's right, real slices of pork, not the little pearl-sized tidbits you find in most places' side dishes. It might be going a bit far to comment on their steamed rice, but it was delightful as well - light, slightly sticky, cooked to just the right firmness, with a sweet overtone that was just right. Lastly, we ordered a total of four dishes and ate to bursting, and still came home with doggy bags enough to do it all over again the next day - when notably, it all still tasted quite fresh. We'll definitely be back.
Reviewed by: D R. on: 9/19/2012 4:51:00 AM
This is the only traditional American-Chinese restaurant we go to anymore. Food is great and a good value. We have our favorite dishes down to a science and once in a while try something else. Their ingredients are almost all fresh and you can tell with the taste. Favorites - S&S Chix, pot of Wonton soup (lots of veggies!), Onion or Garlic Chix.Don't be put off by the exterior (strip-mall), food is great, as is the service. They do a TON of takeout.
Reviewed by: James W. on: 9/19/2012 9:00:00 PM
AMAZING Chinese food in an unassuming location! Their portion sizes are amazing, and I just can't eat the Mongolian Beef fast enough. Their combination of rice, onions, beef, and crispy rice noodles is a nice crunchy balance that is to die for. Portion sizes are enormous as well. Lunch and dinner specials are a full meal that I generally can't finish, which leaves plenty for take home :)
Reviewed by: Mo O. on: 9/13/2012 10:41:00 AM
Full disclosure, this is the only Chinese food that I can remember ever having eating at. My family has been going to Great China religiously for at least 7 years, and I can only remember loving it. Service is great, portions are large, menu is extensive, and prices are good. Mongolian chicken is our family favorite!
Reviewed by: JoAnn A. on: 9/8/2012 9:57:00 AM
Over the years, I've stopped in this place with my sister and her family, but it wasn't until more recently that I've realized how good this place is! ;) Location-wise, it's in a small strip-mall type of area off the main road, so parking can be kind of a hassle if it's a busy night (at least it seems like it would be). I will say though that the food here is just deLISH! I've never been disappointed with what I've ordered and the portions are of good size. (Can typically get another meal, possibly two out of it). Price is reasonable too, so it's a go to option for me when I'm looking for Chinese take out in the area :)
Reviewed by: Michelle G. on: 8/10/2012 2:28:00 AM
My co-worker and I had the office to ourselves this afternoon and decided to order from this place, as it had great reviews and is apparently one of the top 100 Chinese restaurants in the U.S....? Yeah. Right.Our delivery guy had horrible hygiene - it was clear he had not shaved or showered in days. When we opened our food in the styrofoam containers, the food looked like it had been shaken up in the process of delivery. The "appetizer" of BBQ pork was two little slices soaked in some sort of overly-salty sauce. The egg flour soup was bland and a sickly pale color. The Mongolian beef was a weird, chewy consistency.I was willing to look past these things and try to finish my lunch until I found a short gray hair in my food. That was the absolute last straw. Then I figured, hey, why not just eat the fortune cookie? Our fortune cookies had been put into a paper sack and were unsealed and soggy. So much for that.It has been about 20 minutes since I stopped eating and I'm feeling nauseated already. Here's to getting food poisoning and getting to go home early!Bottom line, I'm not sure what the restaurant atmosphere is like but this delivery service experience was more than enough for me to never eat here again.
Reviewed by: Kathleen M. on: 4/8/2012 5:55:00 PM
FYI...Great China was voted one of the top 100 Chinese restaurants in the U.S.Yay for them!!!
Reviewed by: Omid V. on: 4/6/2012 12:09:00 PM
I have been living in Kirkland for a while now, and when i need to eat Authentic Chinese food that i feel like i am eating in Beijing or Shanghai i always eat at Great China. This great place has been voted the TOP 100 Best Chinese Restaurants in the United States and it definitely lives up to that! Amazing Rice. Noodles, Meats, Vegetables, and Best of all Sauces. HUGE PORTION worth the $ which is very reasonable, Amazing Ambiance and even better Service! Family run and not a franchise which means it is a Kirkland only Restaurant. I have eaten almost every dish from the huge variety of the menu, and trust me it is hard to eat only one dish all over again, you have to eat everything to get the Great China Feel. I Love this Place, and i will continue to go, it beats every other restaurant i visited!
Reviewed by: Alex M. on: 3/8/2012 5:04:00 AM
This is the worst Chinese food I've ever had. I ordered the Mongolian Beef, Mushu Pork, and pot stickers. All of it was under cooked, and horribly oily. The mushu pork was about 2 inches deep in watery liquid, the pancakes were completely stale. I'll never order from here again. I didn't bother trying return the food, I just took it as a loss, and hopefully my $30.00 mistake will keep you from making the same one.
Reviewed by: Winnie B. on: 2/5/2012 2:30:00 PM
Oh my gosh. So yummy. No one who lives in Jaunita/Kirkland can survive without knowing about this place. Huge portions, oozy gooey wonderful noodle dishes. I've never had anything from this place that wasn't delicious. It's the kind of place people drive from Redmond to go to. The family dinner for two is always enough to feed my four person family, and we order take-out whenever my sister and I can convince my parents we don't have anything else to eat. :) Seriously, this is the best standard Chinese-American food you can get in this part of the East Side. Don't go anywhere else!
Reviewed by: Jared W. on: 2/4/2012 12:25:00 PM
I'm definitely not a Chinese food expert. That being said, I really like the food at Great China and more importantly...THE PORTION SIZE !!I usually order a dinner Combo D or E and man is it a lot of food. I have only managed to finish the entire dish once, all the other times I have taken home the leftovers and have had enough for dinner the next day. For about $10-$11 you are pretty much getting two meals, one time I split one of the combos with another person and neither one of us were hungry afterwards.
Reviewed by: kelseyscharff on: 2/12/2013 12:17:04 AM
The food here is generally fantastic. The only negative experience I had was on 02.12.13, when I found chicken in my vegetable chowmein (I am a vegan). Unfortunate that the order was "to go" and I could not send back for a corrected dish. I will not stop coming here, but I will definately be very clear when I place my order that having meat in my dish turns my stomach. :( It was unfortunate to have to throw it away.
Reviewed by: furgie527 on: 12/23/2012 1:00:18 PM
We do not live in Kirkland but I would drive once a week for this food. Wonderful food, great service, good prices. And very generous servings. We always have to take some home.
Reviewed by: furgie527 on: 2012-06-05
We ate here last night for the first time and it was absolutely wonderful. Service was excellant! The food was hot and cooked to perfection. Salt & Pepper Fish....Delish.. Just wish this place was closer to home as I do not live in Kirkland. But its worth the drive so we will be going back soon and often.
Reviewed by: lashawncanter on: 4/23/2012 10:26:43 AM
I have been coming here with my parents and grandparents since I was a kid and have been bringing my kids and grandkids now too!!! WE ALL LOVE THE FOOD!!!! You will not find a more Authentic High Quaality Meal and dining experience for your family!!!
Reviewed by: rzwillenberg on: 2/12/2012 5:47:09 PM
good food. good price. please consider double bagging to-go orders, though. my pants now have sauce all over them because of a hole poked in the side of the bag by the to-go box. thanks.
Reviewed by: ravenwolfblazing on: 2010-12-17
The food here is awesome and well worth the price, especially when getting several dishes for take out dinner! The staff is always friendly and nice. If you have yet to eat here, you really should try it!
Reviewed by: syl2sing on: 2010-12-01
Delicious,fresh hot food every time.Best wonton soup and sweet and sour prawns in our area.Wonderful,considerate staff.
Reviewed by: avcat on: 2010-11-28
Great food every time. Try the Cashew Chicken... best we've found in 7 states. General Tso's chicken is a winner! We keep meeing our neighbors there, never a bad meal in 9 years. Wonderful Hostess, Staff.
Reviewed by: aardwork on: 2010-11-21
Great food especially the egg foo young, Kung pao chicken and Szechuan tofu with pork.
Reviewed by: frontier.com on: 2010-11-19
Always great food.
Reviewed by: robot22 on: 2010-11-18
What can I say, great food,great service. Me and my wife love this place. Large protions of good food for not much $$. Their spicy green beans (3 stars ) make any meal out of this world. Been going there for about 10 years now we will continue going there.
Reviewed by: ciscos69 on: 2010-11-15
We are regulars and order the basil chicken, special house rice and seasame prawns...add a little soup and walla a beautiful take out meal that we crave for at a minimum of once a month...yummmie
Reviewed by: gaia.hawkin on: 2010-11-11
We had been regular (once a week) customers when my fiance became very ill. He had to go on a salt free diet and was heart broken that we had to give up his favorite food, fantastic chinese! We went to see them to say good-bye and explain why we wouldn't be coming back. They said "no, problem, we'll just make yours sodium free!" And they have been doing so for several months. I call in an order and they hear our name and say "Ah yes, you're the sodium free folks." I call that great on every point.
Reviewed by: gaia.hawkin on: 2010-11-11
We had been regular (once a week) customers when my fiance became very ill. He had to go on a salt free diet and was heart broken that we had to give up his favorite food, fantastic chinese! We went to see them to say good-bye and explain why we wouldn't be coming back. They said "no, problem, we'll just make yours sodium free!" And they have been doing so for several months. I call in an order and they hear our name and say "Ah yes, you're the sodium free folks." I call that great on every point.
Reviewed by: Bily Chan  on: 2010-11-10
The food is good. Authentic Chinese food. This place is really good. you can't go wrong!Recommended. A+++++++
Reviewed by: samdygu on: 2010-11-08
Amazing food, Amazing service .
Reviewed by: Two_Crazy_Lobsters on: 2002-06-06
This is great Chinese food, and that's IT. Their food is excellent, be it for dine-in or take-out. The dining room is a hole-in-the-wall, and their service is often slow (because they're often busy). However, it's easy to see why it's so ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2005-02-03
This place is INCREDIBLE. If you go there, ask for Jenny, she is an amazinf waitress. This restaraunt is run by a little chinese lady and her daughters and is absolutely delicious! I have been here many times. ...?
Reviewed by: Bob G. on: 2008-07-04
This has been a favorite Chinese Restaurant for years, the best in the Juanita area in Kirkland. One of the best lunch spots in the area, piles of tasty food in the 5 to 7 dollar range - soup, spring roll, main course with rice - you won ...?
Reviewed by: Shannon H. on: 2009-01-04
After eating take-out from many Chinese restaurants in the area, I've found Great China to have the best food by far. I highly recommend their noodles and General Tao's chicken.They have recently remodeled, and have a spacious dining area; ...?
Reviewed by: thebreadcrumb on: 2009-01-26
sometimes there is just not enough time in the day to have a full length adventure, but you still don't want to let a day pass wishing that you would have done something fun. in an effort to prepare for our weekend trek to the international ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2009-05-02
There is more celery than everything else put together in their Kung-Pao and Cashew Chicken dishes. On that note the only differences I could tell between the two dishes was a few cashews and no chili flakes, other than that the dishes were exactly the same. The Mongolian Beef was marginal but was so sweet it tasted like spicy teriyaki. When I got delivery they forgot the rice.?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2009-08-23
I get a HUGE bowl of won ton soup like three times a week from this great place! The waitresses are great, food it soooo good and you get a lot of it for not much $$$. This is the food I get there that I can comment on... Won ton soup - so good! BBQ pork - also so good! Chicken fried rice - out of this world and you get a TON of it!!!!!! I am MR. won ton!!!! ...? More ?