118 N King St, Honolulu, HI, 96817-5009 
808-536-4121
Full service
Cantonese

Business Hours:
06:30 AM - 02:30 AM
06:30 AM - 05:00 PM
06:30 AM - 05:00 PM
06:30 AM - 05:00 PM
06:30 AM - 05:00 PM
06:30 AM - 05:00 PM
06:30 AM - 05:00 PM
Restaurant Location
Small city, town, or suburb
Number of Employees
Number of Seats
Average Price
$5.99-$7.99
Restaurant Type
Full service
Cuisine
Cantonese
Main Stream Americans
Other
Offers

Ratings 8 people have voted

Awards and Honors

40AVG:(5.0)
40AVG:(5.0)
38AVG:(4.8)
38AVG:(4.8)
For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top 100 Specialty  (2010)

Comments(22)   

Reviewed by: Len V. on: 12/22/2012 8:20:00 PM
I was craving southeast asian style food really bad today, and thought laksa and char kway teow should do the trick. My first choice was to head on to Maunakea Marketplace but Triple One's phone was busy so I chanced on Eastern Food Center, based on the Yelp reviews. Long story short, the char kway teow is ....meh. It smelled weird, there's an aftertaste, there was chicken in it (?!), and the 2 shrimps were a few days past fresh.
Reviewed by: mixdplate on: 2012-01-18
Uncle and his wife Janet are without the kindest folks in Chinatown, Eastern Food Center is "ONO," and everyone should try it at least once. It's a family-style place to Kau Kau, stop-in-say; Xin Nian Kuai Le! The best cake noodle and shoyu chicken in Chinatown. KUNG HEE FAT CHOY! Thank you again for the delishous foods you prepared for the Kaiser Permanente Mapunapuna Clinic. Aloha, Thomas
Reviewed by: rickleiho on: 2011-06-14
I have gone to eat at this restaurant for over 15 years. Just ate the Shrimp WonTon Mein - one of the best places for Won Ton Mein - the soup is clear and tasty, the won ton, with equally tasty chunks of shrimp and pork, and the thin hong kong style noodles that has that nice "bite"/al dente crunch when you eat. Clean, good service - a must place to eat when visiting C-town.
Reviewed by: lawmoc on: 2011-04-13
I frequent the Eastern Food Center. Service is good and prompt. I enjoy the Cantonese food served at the restaurant. I also like the takeout foods. Rrice for food is very reasonable.
Reviewed by: fatexavoid on: 2011-01-12
The owner always have a great smile and welcome the customer and you feels like you having food at your home. Anyway the foods are really good, so far I only try the char-siu, laksa, spicy pork chop, taro kau-yok, sea bass rice soup..oh my gosh..those are excellent. Every time I went to China town I will buy some char-siu, if I have plenty time I will stay there to order more foods. And the price is just reasonable. Recommended for you to have a try there.
Reviewed by: fatexavoid on: 2011-01-12
The owner always have a great smile and welcome the customer and you feels like you having food at your home. Anyway the foods are really good, so far I only try the char-siu, laksa, spicy pork chop, taro kau-yok, sea bass rice soup..oh my gosh..those are excellent. Every time I went to China town I will buy some char-siu, if I have plenty time I will stay there to order more foods. And the price is just reasonable. Recommended for you to have a try there.
Reviewed by: custury on: 2010-11-18
Chineserestaurants is the best
Reviewed by: Yumiko on: 2010-11-10
The food is good. Authentic Chinese food. recommended.
Reviewed by: cisk on: 2010-11-08
best chinese food in Hawaii. Awesome friendly service too. Great take out foor for parties.
Reviewed by: Lolo on: 2010-11-08
Amazing food, Amazing service
Reviewed by: bob on: 2010-11-07
the best restaurant in chinatown by far
Reviewed by: hnlnahoa on: 2010-11-05
The food is great; I especially like the Laksa and the mochi rice. Delicious!!! If you're in the area make sure to stop in and try the Laksa. You'll be glad you did!
Reviewed by: hnlnahoa on: 2010-11-05
The food is great; I especially like the Laksa and the mochi rice. Delicious!!! If you're in the area make sure to stop in and try the Laksa. You'll be glad you did!
Reviewed by: bbarreto10 on: 2010-11-05
The food is GREAT, don't miss out!!!!! Not only taste great but you get a good portion!
Reviewed by: Colin on: 2010-11-04
I like this restaurant, its food to attract me
Reviewed by: lleung90 on: 2010-11-03
The portions are generous and the meals taste great. I've enjoyed the new dishes that have been added to the menu over the decade - I would most certainly recommend this place to anyone looking for a good place to chillax and have great Cantonese food.
Reviewed by: lleung90 on: 2010-11-03
The portions are generous and the meals taste great. I've enjoyed the new dishes that have been added to the menu over the decade - I would most certainly recommend this place to anyone looking for a good place to chillax and have great Cantonese food.
Reviewed by: viczeng on: 2010-10-28
good
Reviewed by: yangfan780 on: 2010-10-28
.....
Reviewed by: Angel on: 2010-10-28
This place might not look appealing to everyone, but trust me, you should try it! It's always packed, so carry-out might work better for some people. The staff is friendly, the food is great,
Reviewed by: chinese on: 2010-10-28
4/5 stars. The service is usually good and the food is normally excellent. There is normally a small number of customers inside. The food has a great variety of spicyness. I highly reccomend their general tsos chicken. They don't have much for vegetarian dishes though. I really like China Gate as an authentic Chinese restaurant. Yes, I am chinese so I know what I am talking about. And I am 11 too. Thank you for reading my review.
Reviewed by: jack on: 2010-10-28
How many Chinese people actually eat at China Gate compare to Great Lake or Chia Shiang? Unless China Gate revamped their menu in the past 2 years, its actually one of the worst Chinese restaurant in the area. TK Wu, Asian Legend, and Middle Kingdom all have better food and more authentic options than China Gate.