607 Geary St 
San Francisco, CA, 94102-1646
415-928-6627


Ratings people have voted

AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(34)   

Reviewed by: Kimberly V. on: 3/19/2013 8:32:00 PM
On our last night in San Fran, the boy was itching for the ramen at Katana-Ya. I wasn't really feeling ramen that day so I was secretly pleased to see the wait was out the door. I immediately activated the power of Yelp and found a Vietnamese/Chinese restaurant two blocks away with great reviews.Based on the reviews, I ordered the salt and pepper baked crab, the garlic noodles, and the Vietnamese beef cubes (aka: shaky beef).The salt and pepper baked crab was crowd-pleasingly awesome. My dad makes a version of this with Maryland Blue crabs, but the large dungeness crab is way meatier and more impressive. I am also pretty sure that this crab is deep-fried and not baked like titled but I tried not to pay attention too much since it was yowza-delicious and I gave up fried food for Lent.The garlic noodles is a dish I never heard of on the East Coast...and trust me I've frequented a lot of Vietnamese/Chinese restaurants in my time as an Asian FOB. It basically tasted like buttered, garlic spaghetti noodles which is A-OK with me but nothing too special.The shaky beef was good but I thought the accompanying salad with it could have used fresher vegetables. The tomato bed they placed it upon was postively mealy but you can't go wrong with vegetables drowned in beef juice!At the end of the meal, the waitress presented us with a big bowl of tea to dip our fingers in. I was a little bit apprehensive about our communal finger dipping option but it totally did the trick. By the time I went home, my crab cracking extravaganza was only a faint memory in my stomach and not through the stench of my fingers.Awesome.
Reviewed by: S M. on: 3/16/2013 12:01:00 AM
Food: A million stars. Best chinese food I've ever had, especially the spicy shrimp with vegetables. Sauce was perfect. I liked that they didn't use any thickeners like cornstarch in their sauce. Food is piping hot, fresh, and comes out to your table quickly. Makes me want to take the next plane to SF! I could go on and on about the food....Service: An extremely awkward experience. It pretty much kills the orgasmic food experience. I had read from other reviews before coming that the wait staff made them feel rushed while eating. That is an understatement. You honestly feel like you are an inconvenience, that you should just shovel the food into your mouth and get the F@%K out of their restaurant. The restaurant was pretty empty and there were still a few hours until closing time and the waitress just stood there boring holes into us while we were eating. Instead of just dropping off some to go boxes, she stood there at the table super close to me breathing down my neck and watched me pack up our leftovers and then took away the dirty dishes. The waitstaff are unfriendly, restless, and very anxious to bus tables and clean, regardless if youre still eating or not. Their English is very basic. After the meal I remained sitting to talk for a few minutes but then I got the death stare from the waitress so I just got up and left. She pounced onto the table to clean up. Don't expect to have a leisurely meal here. The best thing would be to take it to go and enjoy the delicious food at home.
Reviewed by: Shane R. on: 3/14/2013 3:24:00 PM
was walking around the tenderloin looking for something cheap w my buddy bb, so we stopped by. first of all, this place is definitely not $$. its $.seafood soup was ok. fish was deep fried, which i wasnt a fan of. not all that much actual seafood. shrimp was fresh. bun was subpar. meat wasnt that smoky or sweet. curry taste was ok but beef was a little gummy.
Reviewed by: alex c. on: 3/12/2013 5:22:00 AM
The best lobster dinner I ever had!!! Service was fantastic. Knowledgeable stuff with a smile and funny suggestions. It was a great experience!!! A+
Reviewed by: Stine H. on: 3/10/2013 1:45:00 AM
Was on a mission to get some salty fried crab goodness. Kim Thanh delivered.A little bit over a 15 minute wait for 2 on a weekend night. Wasn't as crowded as some other restaurants, but there is definitely limited seating in this joint.Yes, this is a "vietnamese" restaurant. But don't get it twisted, you don't come here for authentic, homestyle vietnamese food. It has more of a chinese twist, so DO order the house special crab along with the garlic noodles. Ditch the pho or whatever other vietnamese dish you planned on ordering.Seafood tank is right in front. You can obviously tell that the seafood is fresh and live. Will try the spotted prawn next time.
Reviewed by: Kaitlin L. on: 3/6/2013 7:11:00 PM
This is such a great restaurant! It has very quick service and has the best crispy chicken chow mein I have ever had!
Reviewed by: Jeff P. on: 2/26/2013 7:15:00 AM
The service ranked from 2 to 5 stars. My "waitress" barely spoke English and communicated with hand gestures more than words. That's okay because she was nice and tried. The "owner" (I think) spoke better English, and was very nice and helpful, cleared places, refilled drinks, etc. His "son" (twenty-something, seemed to be in charge after the "owner") was very well spoken, helpful, and friendly. No, it's not a 5 star restaurant, but everyone was enthusiastic about taking care of us.The food was fabu. I had the Salted Baked Crab that everyone raved about, and all I can say is "ditto". The tea was okay, the fried wonton was decent, but the crab was worth every penny of the $30.95 market price for that day. I will definitely go back.
Reviewed by: Noel M. on: 2/26/2013 3:08:00 AM
My last two visits haven't gone quite as well as the first. On the second try, the Seafood Clay Pot wasn't nearly as good. I think the fact that I went late in the evening before caused me to get the more savory, seafood filled bottom of the pot. I also tried the Hot & Sour Fish Soup which was a big disappointment. The single, large chunk of fish was nothing more than a struggle with bones.
Reviewed by: Ilya V. on: 2/19/2013 9:54:00 PM
Awesome good, great service, try to crab.
Reviewed by: Kimlynn H. on: 2/12/2013 9:37:00 PM
Good food. The peppered crab tasted great. There was so much crab meat, it made a great dish to share with my sister. Fast and friendly service as well!
Reviewed by: Donald C. on: 2/6/2013 10:03:00 PM
Monochrome, unremarkable meal without any striking facet of joy.You don't need to be settling for food like this in this city.
Reviewed by: Leah H. on: 1/30/2013 4:23:00 AM
Gruff service, decent food, just ok.
Reviewed by: ASIANDIVAH A. on: 1/22/2013 4:10:00 AM
Must eat: baked salted crab , garlic noodles & the amazing Vietnamese soup!!!The staff are a little bit obsessive-compulsive in taking the plates off of your table, it feels like I'm being rushed to finish up! :(
Reviewed by: Stephanie C. on: 1/18/2013 6:15:00 AM
Two words: GARLIC. NOODLES.Not on the menu as far as I could see, but if you ask....they're more than willing to oblige. These are AMAZING. We make a trip to SF (almost just for these) every year.Don't let the crabs in the window scare you....definitely worth stopping in.
Reviewed by: Kailyn G. on: 1/14/2013 4:06:00 PM
FOOD:Best things we got: Salt baked crab, eggplant with garlic sauce, garlic noodles, deep fried chicken wings. All of it was really tasty. I'm not a big crab person, but it was seasoned really well. Garlic noodles, I love - but I think I'm partial to Sunflower's.Things to pass on: Combination crispy chow mein (looks so good, but it's just not for me. The sauce always makes the noodles soggy), seafood soup (it was nice to warm us up but I wouldn't get it again), fried banana with ice cream.ENVIRONMENT: As expected. Mostly bare and minimal. Tables are a bit close together that it felt squished when people sat at the next table over. They did play pretty awesome music though. I swear - my favorite hit songs and some old ones thrown in for good measure. Points for that.SERVICE: The wait staff was semi-friendly. But they brought our check before we even finished eating. They were super quick about removing dishes and it kept feeling like we were being pushed out. I'm not taking off any stars for it, since this is usually how I feel with these kinds of asian restaurants, but it was definitely not stellar.
Reviewed by: David K. on: 1/3/2013 5:47:00 AM
This is the place in SF for Vietnamese Seafood. That's a period at the end of the sentence. I've eaten at all the name places in SF and this place is a match for any. And they only serve the freshest seafood - - huge shrimp, tasty oysters and the soups and garlic vegetables are the best. The service is great and it's pretty easy to find a metered parking spot within a few blocks walking distance. It's so hard to experiment by going to other restaurants when YOU KNOW this place always serves it up just right!
Reviewed by: Heidi D. on: 1/2/2013 8:44:00 PM
This is my favorite restaurant of all time and I'm a total foodie so I know it's great. It makes Crustacean look amateur. I always order the baked salted crab. I never stray. It's not in the best area but it's worth it. Plus there is a pay lot across the street. In fact, when go back to SF, this will be my first stop.
Reviewed by: Thuan N. on: 12/29/2012 5:07:00 PM
An old friend and I had a crab + quail craving, so we made an evening trip here on a weeknight. Was empty when we got there but filled up fairly quickly.Quail for me was okay. It had been ages since I had quail, and, I don't know, it tasted a little dry this time around. Wasn't a fan.Dungeness crab and garlic noodles were decent. But definitely not as good as Thanh Long or PPQ, which are on a different level. Maybe those restaurants have spoiled me. The flavoring of the crab here was good on outside, as evident on the shell coating, but once you crack it open, it seemed a little dry and lacking inside the shell. It just wasn't juicy and flavorful as at Thanh Long's.Probably wouldn't get the crab again, but I would try out the other dishes.
Reviewed by: Glenn S. on: 12/20/2012 2:16:00 PM
Great Asian seafood. The baked salted crab is outstanding, very fresh and flavorful. Family run business with good service.
Reviewed by: Anthony R. on: 12/18/2012 12:25:00 AM
Craving some Bun Thit Nuong, so I wandered through the 'loin to find a Vietnamese spot open past 8. Ended up here and enjoyed a nicely prepared bowl. Pork was a bit dry and lacked char but the bowl as a whole had a nice proportion of greens to noodles to thit to cha gio.
Reviewed by: Foodlover B. on: 11/19/2012 2:55:00 AM
Ate here tonight and enjoyed the salted crab, garlic noodles and pea shootsThe salted crab is more like peppercorn crab. I did not taste any salt, but loved all the peppercorns. . It does seem as if crab is steamed and then deep fried? It is a little dry and sticks to shell.It's really fun to try crab prepared this way, but honestly, it doesn't taste much like crab. We still are die hard fans of fresh steamed crab that you dip in melted butter!Hubby loved the garlic noodles. I thought they were gummy.I loved the pea shoots. Hubby, nope.....We want to go back and have the soup the other customers loved. The male servers (owners?) were awesome.It was a great meal. We also loved the bottle of sauvignon blanc wine. Not something we would do again, but positvely a great meal to do once........
Reviewed by: Vol T. on: 11/7/2012 7:21:00 AM
It's my next door neighbor.. very convenient! So glad they are actually pretty good.Really enjoyed the sugar cane shrimp balls for appetizer. You make egg rolls out of them with rice paper.. really fun and tasty. Partner and I shared the Vietnamese hot and sour soup, which is our favorite any time we have Vietnamese. Their version was pretty good! I had the lemongrass pork which was good, he had vermicilli bowl with chargrilled pork and shredded pork. Both were yummy. Good service, good menu, good enough. We'll be back.
Reviewed by: Ken G. on: 10/15/2012 11:23:00 AM
This place is awsome.....fresh crabs...prawns....get out of town...in the Tenderloin......I'll be back. The service was excellant. For dessrt we had fried bananas with ice cream.....and get this...the prices are affordable!
Reviewed by: Sean W. on: 10/15/2012 7:33:00 PM
Terrible service and mediocre food. Dishes had inaccurate descriptions, came out 15 minutes apart, and were cold by the time we got all our orders. It took 3 people to identify what ingredient was in a soup (not a good sign). The staff is inattentive and unapologetic.
Reviewed by: Ray R. on: 8/10/2012 2:55:00 PM
i love these kinda places. hole in the wall, probably pass by it all the time but just never thought it was good enough to stop by and eat. glad i found this place.before i start let me just say that THIS IS MY NEW FAVE SPOT FOR CRAB AND GARLIC NOODLES!we went inside and it didnt look like much but i didnt notice one thing - like Jason at work told me...the secret to a good asian place is live seafood in tanks!! they have these MASSIVE jumbo prawns that they do for like $25/pound and i saw lobster and Geoduck clams! where else can you get Geoduck in SF??Anyway I was there for one thing - crab! we ordered a salt and pepper baked crab and a ginger and onion crab. at $30.95/crab, i was expecting greatness. we also ordered a plate of the garlic noodles and a bok choy w/ginger sauce.i asked how fresh the crab was and one of the cook came out with a metal bowl and went straight to the tanks in the front and grabbed 2 wily crabs and said "this fresh".first came the baked crab - TO. DIE. FOR. seriously. i had this same-style crab at other places and this place knocks them all out. i wanted to eat the shell to get more of the taste - it was that damn good. second came the garlic and onion crab which twas also TO. DIE. FOR. and it was a nice complement to the baked crab as that was dry fried and the garlic onion was wet sauteed. and dont EVEN get me started on the garlic noodles. most other places don't give you a whole plate and there was something that set this plate of garlic noodles apart from all the other places and i can't really tell what it was except to call it the X-FACTOR heheservice was great and the owner came out to check on us and i told him that this was the best crab and garlic noodles i've ever tasted.can't wait to go back!!
Reviewed by: Paul K. on: 7/31/2012 2:08:00 PM
I for some reason always end up on this block of the Loin. And Kim Thanh never disappoints. Great seafood dishes---I'm partial to the seafood hot pot---and courteous, efficient service. Highly recommended.
Reviewed by: Song Z. on: 7/14/2012 1:48:00 AM
If you ever looked at someone and thought they deserved something special, you must bring them here. I brought my family here when they came to visit and my mom almost moved in with me.We ended up ordering a bucket of rice, the combination seafood boat (soup item), Ginger Beef, Steamed RockCod Fish with Green Onion and Ginger, and the Salted Baked Crab. Share it with 5 people, total turned out to be $109, so the price was great!The Rice tasted GREAT!Ginger Beef was okay... it was kind of greasy and tasted great with Rice. The first 3 beef chunks were great, but after that it was like whatevers. We paid $7.95 for it.The RockCod Fish was really expensive, so don't pay for it on a date unless you want to spend the rest of your lives together. And I mean this too, because sharing this $21/lb fish (Our fish was 2.2 lbs) really brought our family closer together. The meat was unbelievable soft and tender. Dip it in the soup sauce, and slurp it with rice. Thinking about it makes my whole body go mushy. Yes, it was THAT good.The Salted Baked Crab was nothing short of amazing. We each grabbed a leg to crack open and eat, and then we all fought over the remains of that crab that was once alive and swimming in the tank not soo long ago (about 20 minutes ago). And the story does not end here. The freakin salt on the crab was good too! I licked my fingers, licked over all the crab shell, and even tried eating the shell. Did I mention there were onions and pepper on the crab too? Those tasted heavenly OH MY! We cleaned out that crab plate.Last but not least, I think my favorite is the combination seafood boat (soup item), not because I ordered it, but because the soup was really, really, really good. The vegetables was soft and tasted so good with the soup. Who ever thought brocolli and lettuce can taste so good? There were also seafood sprinkled throughout the soup but the vegetables in there was a hit. They put the soup on a burner so it's always warm. Also, the soup was not very thick and tasted pure, so it was a clean break from the salty crab and the greasy beef.Overall, I loved this place, and I'll bring my girlfriend here regularly.I gave this place 4 stars because the people working here seems a little confused. They almost gave our $45 rock fish to someone else! I watched in horror as they brought our rockfish to someone else's table. If they paid more attention to customers I'd give it 5 stars easily.
Reviewed by: Fong C. on: 7/13/2012 9:50:00 PM
I am not fond of Vietnamese and Chinese fused restaurant. But, this one is superb among superb! I loved the seafood there. They have lobsters, geoducks, and crabs in big tanks. You order them and they will kill one and cook for you. The crab is $31/lb, and a crab weighs at least 1.5 lb. People are raving about salted baked crab. It was good, but it wasn't that good for me to brag about. Oh, and it was fried, not baked.Another dish I has was steamed rock cod fish with black bean sauce. You eat the fish with the sauce and rice. The sauce was so special; it wasn't too sweat or too salty. It was heavenly. The fish was $21/lb. A fish weighs at least 2 pounds. You should give it a try, and this restaurant is San Francisco best place to eat Geoduck: http://www.sfweekly.com/…I didn't try Geoduck tho. I will definitely try it next time.The next dish I had was seafood boat with lots of vege in it. The broth was so sweet with the smell of steamed vege. SOOO GOOD!! There were at least 4 or 5 kinds of vege in it, and some seafood.Happy Dining.
Reviewed by: Eva Z. on: 7/13/2012 12:43:00 AM
Goddess dish: Special dish posted on their wall--a fish.Not just an ordinary fish. A fish that lays on a glorious lake of savory yet non-oily sauce that neatly hides the bare whiteness of their plate. That fish must have been an aquatic olympian back in its fishland because my gosh its meat practically had springs in them! It was amazingly chewy, not in a bad way at all, it was soft and juicy yet had a kind of firmness that only a true fish olympian would have.Amazing.That 2 pound fish was defintely worth the $50 if you have a group to enjoy the Goddess fish Athena.I don't remember what it was called exactly. All i know was that the paper on the wall that had its name on it was not nearly as honoring or decorative as it should have been for Goddess fish Athena. It was on the right wall when you pass the entrance.Everyone should pay respects to her.Service: They are quite muddle-headed. They gave us a wrong dish, then gave us an extra dish, then forgot to give us the things to crack a crab with. They're nice people though.Honorable Mention: Salt Baked Crab with Butter.It was quite a good crab, but in my absolute honest opinion, the little bits of onion and garlic below it tasted better. The onion. The onion. The onion bits. I think they were Goddess fish Athena's children. If i had the choice, i would just ask for the onion bits, not the crab. Not worth the $40 bucks. I've had better in restaurants by the beach in LA.Goddess fish Athena. Me gusta.
Reviewed by: Jimmy M. on: 7/12/2012 7:35:00 AM
It's been three years, almost to the day, that I ate here.And I've done it again.Salt and Pepper Crab. So god damn good. I killed it in like 30-45 minutes (which is hard to do, lots of work).I am stuffed, but it was worth it. Their food is so good, and this dish is the best. They have a big tank of crab and they just grab one and cook it for you.If you go here, get this. You won't regret it. I only took this long to eat it again because I haven't been back to SF in three years.
Reviewed by: Yvonne C. on: 6/17/2012 7:48:00 PM
A friend and I dined here recently and shared:Combo fried riceGinger chickenBun Thiut NuongPortions are small, but the food was all tasty and delicious. Excellent service too! I look forward to coming back to try the seafood.
Reviewed by: Priscilla C. on: 4/8/2012 2:17:00 AM
Came here for dinner after Napa because my friend was craving lobster, but I only eat lobster when cooked Chinese/Viet style and because supposedly my friend's friend said this place was bomb.Ordered:Szechuan Hot & Sour Soup (small) - This was my pick, being born and raised in So. Cal, the cooler weather up north freezes me to the bone and I was in dire need of some scalding hot soup to warm me up. (Think, Campbell's Chicken Noodle Soup commercial...the Asian version) While ladling the soup into our bowls I noticed it was chock full of tasty goodies...then I tasted it.. one word: Sweet. No bueno.Chinese Broccoli Beef - tasty, smoky flavor from being stir-fried. Smaller portion than what I'm used to seeing in LA though. My friend however thought this dish was too sweet along with the soup.Green Onion & Ginger Lobster - Yummy, small lobster... pretty saucy more than what I usually see, but the flavor was there.Since my friend pretty much took care of me (financially) with all the other meals before the dinner at Kim Thanh I thought took care of the bill for this dinner... I kind of had sticker shock though when the actual bill was given. $68 for 2 dishes and one small soup? The hail? Maybe that's normal in SF, but over in LA especially SGV for those portions, taste and just for being what it was $68 is a rip off. Lesson learned, just wait till I get back to the SGV area to eat lobster and Asian food because $68 can buy me 4 to 5 dishes (with/without soup) and feed more than two people.
Reviewed by: Derek N. on: 3/17/2012 8:17:00 AM
Meh...My lunch yesterday was a bunch of meh.I ordered their seafood HK-style noodles, and I was bored eating it. The noodles were wrong and the scallops were overcooked. I've eaten here for dinner before, and those meals were not bad.However...The waiter-dude with the halting-style of Canto-English and his matter of factness was priceless. Unintentional comments from said waiter-dude heard from the table at my right, "What is cerveza?...Oh (three second pause) why u no just say beer?" Omg hilarious. This went on and on. I was getting a side show on top of my lunch meal. Worth one-half stars for the Improv act.
Reviewed by: Johnson C. on: 1/4/2012 9:41:00 PM
I'm curious why this place deserves a 4-stars rating from yelpers.First of all, the food is not fantastic and over-priced by serving small portion (reminds me of food sizes when I'm in SE Asia).Secondly, service is poor. I know that typical chinese restaurant tends to clear your plate faster so as to turnaround table for new customers but this place wanted to clear our plates even though there are still huge portion of foods on the plate.I would not consider this place again.