1653 Laurel St 
San Carlos, CA, 94070-5216
650-595-2031


Ratings people have voted

AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(11)   

Reviewed by: Herb M. on: 3/24/2013 7:30:00 PM
OMG What has happened we went by yesterday and the place is totally boarded up and sealed off from the sidewalk. We are really going to miss this place big time. Called on the phone but got an incomplete message saying sorry they are closed. No explanation.
Reviewed by: Roger S. on: 3/19/2013 4:34:00 PM
Amazing Wok had good, solid food. Not top-of-the-line gourmet, but not priced like it either. In fact, it's priced way less than it should be. Three stars for the food, five for the price, so they get a four overall.The problem is, they appear to be closed. The whole place is boarded up. I don't know if they're gone for good or just remodeling, but for now, they're outta business.
Reviewed by: Dude N. on: 2/17/2013 9:25:00 AM
Just like the name says, AMAZING! Amazing food at a great price, and the staff are friendly.
Reviewed by: T V. on: 2/13/2013 5:29:00 PM
This is my all time favorite chinese restaurant. Best Hot and Sour soup, best potstickers, and best Mongolian Chicken (all white meat, lots of chicken and not greasy). It's tiny place, I see most people order take out from here. The family who owns and works here is so nice! Highly recommend :)
Reviewed by: Vanessa S. on: 2/4/2013 2:41:00 PM
My family always orders from here, the family that works here is so nice! The food is delicious and super moist.
Reviewed by: Sha s. on: 11/28/2012 10:10:00 PM
Went for dinner today after a last minute Yelp search. We ordered King Pao/ Chicken Chow mein and Hot and Sour soup. It was delicious, hot enough for our spicy palates! The Chow mein was really good and closer to what we used to get in our small Indian town ( Yes, we kinda missed that taste and texture!) The vegetables in the KPC were still crunchy and the mushrooms in the soup were freshly minced and not gooey. The place is small with minimal furnishings, no heating but we will eat here again. The staff was polite and friendly, service was quick.
Reviewed by: C. E. on: 10/9/2012 2:04:00 PM
GreaT delivery service and great food. Best chow mein on the peninsula
Reviewed by: Darwin P. on: 7/15/2012 2:38:00 PM
I have eaten at the Amazing Wok many, many times over the past few years. The lunches are good and inexpensive, served in reasonable portions, complete with soup and wonton. The family is friendly, although in some cases the young men speak English better than the others. The place obviously saves on such amenities as heat and light, but you can't eat the atmosphere, as the old saying wisely goes.The dinners seem inferior to the lunches--perhaps there is a different cook. I cannot understand how one or reviewers find the staff rude--I have never had that experience. (I get the impression that the writers are a bit arrogant.) I have tried many of the Chinese restaurants in San Carlos (including the one closed for cockroaches) and consider the Wok the best.
Reviewed by: Kyaw L. on: 6/16/2012 1:39:00 AM
Near the border of Redwood City and San Carlos, it's a nice little spot.The place gets a 0 for presentation. You have what seems like lawn chairs and fold out table from a ghetto bbq party. The people are relatively nice here and they give you about a minute to have your order ready. But the lunch menu here is amazingly diverse and cheap. I got a szechuan chicken dish which was more sweet than spicy. The soup was your typical lunch special and the appetizer for the lunch special was your typical fake crab wontons. They bring you a decent bowl of rice very home land ish feel from everything that you are given to eat with. No real condiments and no service really after you get your food. They didn't even ask us if we want the food to go. The lady also forgot our order after a couple minutes must have been the heat or something. But for a little more than $5 it gets the job done. I wouldn't mind coming here again and trying the rest of their selection. Maybe I ll order all chicken dishes and see if she remembers .
Reviewed by: Agustinus T. on: 2/18/2012 5:57:00 AM
Great deal for lunch special. Had beef string beans for less than $6 with soup, egg roll and rice. Good portion, string beans were cooked just right and beef was good as well. The sauce, however, was just too sweet.The place is a little rundown so not that great for dining in.Wouldn't mind coming again but will ask to make the food less sweet.
Reviewed by: Johnny J. on: 1/18/2012 5:46:00 PM
My wife and I went here tonight.Food was excellent .I decided on 4 stars for not heat at all.In a dinning room was really cold!But the food was great - so I thing next time take out or delivery is in order!I recommended !