1613 Walnut St, Philadelphia, PA, 19103-5402 
215-751-9990 / 215-751-9991
Full service
American-Chinese,Szechuan,Cantonese

Business Hours:
Mon. - Thur.: 11:00am -11:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 12:00 midnight
Saturday: 11:00am - 11:30pm
Sunday: 12:00noon- 11:00pm
Restaurant Location
Major city
Number of Employees
21+
Number of Seats
151+
Average Price
$10-$14.99
Restaurant Type
Full service
Cuisine
American-Chinese
Szechuan
Cantonese
Main Stream Americans
Offers
$20.00-$25.00

Ratings 2 people have voted

Awards and Honors

10AVG:(5.0)
10AVG:(5.0)
10AVG:(5.0)
10AVG:(5.0)
For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top 100 Overall Excellence  (2010)

Comments(24)   

Reviewed by: M H. on: 3/17/2013 5:42:00 PM
Pretty decent. Not much better than standard. Nothing special but def not a lunch risk. Go here for a little bit better than average meal.
Reviewed by: Rob B. on: 3/4/2013 8:33:00 AM
Space is attractive, modern, service was very good.Food: egg rolls, excellent, crisp, not soggy, large pieces of shrimp.Chicken satay, stringy chicken, watery sauce,General Tso's chicken, texture was right, tasted ok, not great, broccoli was good and brown rice was well prepared. I like Lee How Fuk and Sekora better. They need to kick it up a notch, esp w. slightly higher prices and prime location.
Reviewed by: Susan H. on: 3/1/2013 7:49:00 PM
Living Social had $5 off delivery and I was home alone so figured I'd try this place. First bad news was wonton soup - about the level you get from the truck on the corner. Tepid broth, incredibly thick wontons. Then, the "dragon and Phoenix" was basically moo goo gai pan (and not that good) with one tiny piece of lobster added. When I called to complain, the manager said that's how they do it because lobster is expensive. I pointed out to her that it was $5 more than the chicken dish - her response - "lobster is very expensive." I thought maybe that's how they were saving the LS coupon cost, but I guess that's their standard practice. Don't bother going -- so many better places.
Reviewed by: Linda H. on: 1/10/2013 9:28:00 PM
Like this place quite a bit. Good service whether taking out or eating in.
Reviewed by: Abhishek Y. on: 11/26/2012 5:16:00 AM
Summary: Passable food, Higher Prices, Okay ServiceWent here with an old friend to grab a bite to eat and catch up on a Friday evening. They started us off with fried wontons (on the house), followed by a decent hot and sour soup (spice level was good, but broth tasted odd), and finally, entrees were the special of the day, General Tso's Chicken. The chicken tasted weird, and the sauce was probably on the lower end of the sauces that I've eaten as part of General Tso's in my lifetime.The food was passable, but nothing really past that. Cheap tasting Americanized Chinese food. I'm actually surprised at how high the rating for the restaurant is here on Yelp.The service was okay - the server got around to filling the water and clearing plates, but only eventually. She also looked quite miserable, which could also have been because the entire place was empty on a Friday night, but either way, it was no reason to make us feel bad for being there.Overall, for a soup, two entrees, and no drinks, the check came out to 39$, not including gratuity. That was way more than it should have costed - the food was on par with what I could have gotten for 15$ at a food truck.My recommendation would be to avoid this place.
Reviewed by: Adrienne C. on: 11/24/2012 7:29:00 PM
Go in with realistic expectations - this is a cheap Americanized Chinese spot that is awesome for delivery. Huge portions, cheap Chinese and fast delivery. Our go-to for lazy nights where we want some noodles and dumplings for cheap.
Reviewed by: Albert Y. on: 10/12/2012 8:48:00 PM
Worst Chinese food I've ever had in my life. Quite expensive at that. Freakishly expensive actually. I can't understand how this place has stayed in business.
Reviewed by: Scott B. on: 9/27/2012 8:19:00 AM
VERY affordable. FAST delivery. Great General Tso's Chicken. Generous portions. The hot and sour soup has a unique flavor; though I liked it, it wasn't my favorite. I order from them about every 6 weeks or so. They never disappoint!
Reviewed by: Andrew W. on: 8/7/2012 7:40:00 AM
The shrimp was BBAAAALLLLINNNNN!!!! to the max! and I had that $10 off coupon from the LivingSocial deal holla atcha boy yeahhhhhhhbuddy! Anyway, I bought the Happy Family dish and it was alright but the shrimp and pork was sweeeet. Pretty nice location, too. :)
Reviewed by: Daniela M. on: 7/25/2012 1:49:00 PM
Awful. Very Americanized Chinese food that's full of corn starch and sugar. Everything is HEAVILY sauced. Hot and spicy shrimp dish was essentially 5 shrimp battered in corn starch and an entire container of chopped onions in a day glo red sauce that was too sweet to even eat. Totally disgusting. Broccoli with garlic sauce was sweet, again very heavy sauce that was full of corn starch. Hadn't ordered Chinese food in years, since I normally cook my own - now I remember why!If you're looking for something authentic, Wok is NOT it.
Reviewed by: Dan A. on: 3/28/2012 3:21:00 PM
The location of this restaurant is convenient and the service was good. I requested that the Bean Curd (Tofu) Szechuan Style, which is labeled as spicy on the menu, be made even spicier. But the heat was pretty mild. The diced carrots were undercooked, which lead to an odd crunchiness to the dish.
Reviewed by: Linn L. on: 1/15/2012 4:33:00 PM
The General Tso's sauce wasn't the normal thick dark red spicy sauce of normal Chinese restaurants, instead it was thin and very sweet. The chicken seemed very fatty and had no crunch. Even tried the General Tso Tofu dish, and was again very disappointed. I will not be ordering from Wok again. If you like General Tso, look elsewhere, friends.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on:
This restaurant has been a staple on Walnut Street for more years than we can remember, and it's not the typical red-dragon-motif Chinese joint. Pale blue walls sport Asian-themed murals and mirrors for a pleasant Zen vibe. ...?
Reviewed by: silpugs on: 2003-02-17
I found this place when I started working and shopping in center city. I have eaten in there and get delivery to my work. I have to say, they are fast and the food is good. I get something weird with been curd and it is awsome. ...?
Reviewed by: kimberly jackson on: 2005-01-22
I moved to Center City recently and figured Wok had to be good - it was near so many amazing restaurants and located right on Walnut Street. Instead, it was probably one of the worst dining experiences I ever had. The only positive thing ...?
Reviewed by: jch280 on: 2007-04-16
We found this restaurant by accident when we were walking around hungry and wet from the rain storm. It was a really stormy night and we ended up being the only ones in the entire restaurant so we of course were set immediately. ...?
Reviewed by: sari_beth on: 2007-11-16
This is our favorite Chinese place in Philly. We go both for take out and sit-down. It is a convenient location for a lunch or dinner break if you are doing errands or shopping in Center City and I would describe the atmosphere as very ...?
Reviewed by: kutomorph on: 2008-01-01
Just called them to order delivery, the item was $9.89 including tax. They refused to deliver because it was under $10. Why bother when the city is full of other great chinese restaurants? ...?
Reviewed by: BetterTasteThanYours on: 2008-05-02
The location is good but the food was not. The shrimp and lobster sauce could best be described as "gooey shrimp water." It really had almost no taste to it. The sesame chicken was average at best. If I had paid very little for the food ...?
Reviewed by: margaux30 on: 2008-06-27
WOK is consistently good. If you like standard Chinese food (eggrolls, crab rangoon, pepper steak, etc.) you will find it on the menu. Each dish I've ordered is always very good. And they bring it out in record timing!The decor and ...?
Reviewed by: A TripAdvisor Member on: 2008-07-18
First of all I am a Brit who regularly comes to Philadelphia.Over the years I must have dined at Wok at least forty times - and all I can say is that I have found the restaurant to be excellent on all visits. The decor is great, service ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2008-09-14
It wasnt wonderful. But it was pleasant. The lobster shrimp stuff was pretty good.......................................?
Reviewed by: ROHINI S. on: 2008-10-01
You will love there soups. There chicken dishes are great too. Very good service. perfect to take a date for a romantic candle light Dinner. If you are Chinese Food lover, a must go place to eat. ...?
Reviewed by: Alfred B. F. on: 2008-11-18
This is one of my favorite Chinese Food take places in Philly. I usually eat a Special like the Shrimp and exotic mushrooms before ordering "Take out" for dinner and the portions usually last me the rest of the week. The ambiance is romantic ...?