5672 Thornton Ave 
Newark, CA, 94560-3825
510-742-8818


Ratings people have voted

AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)
AVG:(NaN)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(17)   

Reviewed by: Mohammed S. on: 3/26/2013 4:55:00 PM
Food is good.Delivery actually shows up on time.Lady in charge is very friendly and is happy to customize your order if they can.I've eaten here about 20 times and I've been happy every time.The portion size is big.They are open 7 days a week and they don't use MSG.
Reviewed by: Jose B. on: 3/13/2013 10:21:00 PM
Food was surprisingly good.I loved that their Combo Fried Rice was not too greasy and it was PACKED to the gills in our take-away carton! I had to post a picture of it as soon as I got it!Man that was some good stuff in the neighborhood. Gotta hit it up again soon!
Reviewed by: Jessica R. on: 3/11/2013 6:10:00 AM
This place is sooo good! They do not use msg and the flavor does not lack. Their portions are a very good size! Best of all the people there are so amazingly kind and "real". I was so sick and couldnt come to pick up my soup and the man there delivered it to me even though my order was small (small $3 delivery charge). I didn't have a yelp account, but I felt so impressed by Asia Express I just had to leave a review. Im going to pick up dinner there tonight!
Reviewed by: Chellam C. on: 2/22/2013 3:42:00 AM
Good portions, good price. Nice service. Tasty food. I like their hot and sour soup, fried rice, long beans, kung pao chicken.
Reviewed by: Darla S. on: 2/19/2013 4:31:00 AM
Food had great flavor, not oily and at reasonable prices. Super clean place and friendly owners! This is definitely our new Chinese take out.
Reviewed by: Gary P. on: 1/5/2013 1:52:00 PM
This has to be the worse tasting Chinese food ever, the sweet and sour is awful, the chow mein had no taste. the rice was dry and the old rude Chinese lady that serves you acted like she was dong you a favor and also acted annoyed that she had to serve you, no smile, angry look on her face. no wonder the food tastes bad. I ended up throwing over half the meal away, never again, beware. Ann's Chinese food in Newark is 10 times better and they give you more food for the same price. I'm sticking with Ann's from now on.
Reviewed by: Jim F. on: 11/11/2012 3:24:00 PM
we like it! They dropped a menu on our front porch so thought we would try the delivery service. Ordered fried wings with garlic and jalapeno. Great!. Order of samosa. They were great. Pork fired rice was my favorite. Big pieces of bbq pork. We tried chow mein first time and were not impressed so moved to tofu with thin noodle and vegetable and have had that a couple of times since. The delivery was good and within time promised. The owner was delivering and even included a fantastic piece of cheesecake. I dont know if it was the surprize factor but that cheese cake was top five best ever.
Reviewed by: Mari P. on: 9/28/2012 9:31:00 PM
Great chinese food for the area. They have a quick pick food station (similar to Panda Express) but they also have a to order menu where they will cook for you if you just wait 15-20 minutes (depending on how many people are there--sometimes there is a line out the door). I like their noodle dishes and sesame chicken is good. I also ordered the eggplant side dish, I didn't like the texture, taste, color of the eggplant, just very oily. They have a sit down restaurant on the side with a flat screen tv, seemed clean and spacious. Staff was friendly and helped us decide on family meal since they have a couple of dish options/pricing. Would go back for sure.
Reviewed by: Rishi S. on: 9/20/2012 4:51:00 PM
Delicious food! Not oily at all. Spent $40 and fed a family of 5 with leftovers.The Honey Walnut Prawns were among the best I ever had. They seemed to have a light crispy tempura shell and were not overcooked at all. The quantity of prawns seemed reasonable.I also ordered Kung Pao Chicken and Chicken Fried Rice x2. Both were above average and tasty. Neither were oily. The vegetarian egg rolls were larger than I expected and were also good.
Reviewed by: Omar G. on: 8/20/2012 1:36:00 PM
I'm too kind with the 5-stars. Bomb food! We ordered about $40 worth of food and it feed all 7 people in my house with left overs. I actually decided to eat there based on the Yelp reviews. We ordered:- Mongolian Beef - Nice and spicy- Shrimp w/ vegetables - Didn't eat it but wifey said it was great- Shrimp egg fu young - awesome- Fried rice - Hard to screw up but seen it done. great though- And guy gave my wife some free egg drop soup. Hmm... don't know if he wasflirting but I'll let it go since it was free food. Yes, I have a price ( :Over all, I will definitely hit it up again and maybe try their delivery service.
Reviewed by: Michelle Q. on: 6/11/2012 5:58:00 AM
HOW THE HELL DOES THIS PLACE HAVE 4 STARS.I've been baffled by the rankings of Santa Cruz restaurants (*cough* Santa Cruz Diner *cough*) but this takes the cake. If Asia Express is rated 4 stars then Panda Express must be top tier, out of this world amazing Chinese food. This place is a joke.I get it. I, too, often crave decent Asian food in this sea of suburban food chains and diners that is Santa Cruz. But this place is horrible, and in no way will ever come close to satisfying my cravings.I've been here twice, and that was 2 times too many. Sometimes you're just in the mood for shitty Chinese food (i.e. Panda Express). The pho broth is a little strange. It tastes a little old. There is never that much meat, even though it comes in a gigantic bowl. And the noodles aren't light and slightly chewy...they're weirdly dense and have a bite to them. That being said, the pho is probably the best thing on the menu. The vermicelli isn't too bad. The egg rolls taste frozen and the pork and shrimp are both severely overcooked. But at least they give you a lot. The sad thing is, the fish sauce they give you with it doesn't do anything. I think they water it down. Now, the instant food is the worst! Limited selections and most of it is dry/shriveled up. My friend got a 2 item combination and his portions were tiny and tasted terrible. Panda Express...you are looking mighty good.This place, for me, just doesn't cut it. Not even in a 'you expect it to be crappy' kind of way. I will not be back. Oh, and I found a hair in my vermicelli. A short, dark black hair. Barf.
Reviewed by: Elaine C. on: 6/2/2012 12:40:00 PM
Good food at great prices. Always went here for lunch break when working at the school. Very reasonable and lots of food is given to you. I would always have to take a to go box and eat the rest for dinner. Nice dine in experience.Had them cater my small reception. Good!
Reviewed by: Joy Christiana M. on: 5/15/2012 3:16:00 PM
Honesty, just the food delivery service itself deserves at least 2 stars. I called so many places trying to find a decent Chinese food place to deliver and couldn't believe the "requirements" they had. One place asked for a $50 minimum! It's good that I found Asia Express... They didn't ask for a minimum, delivery is free if your order is $30 or more, otherwise it's $2 or $3.The hot and sour soup was great! The combination fried rice wasn't bad either. Most Chinese food places have their rice kind of dry (or at least to me, since I prefer my rice softer than the usual), but they cooked their rice just right. I also ordered Mongolian beef and the infamous honey walnut prawns. Both were good.The delivery took about 20-30 but then again my location wasn't near the store itself and kind of out of the way.Overall, if you are bumming it and don't feel like leaving the house... This is definitely one of the options to keep in mind.
Reviewed by: Steve H. on: 5/6/2012 12:56:00 AM
This place is not your typical Chinese food place. Sure they do have a steam table like most do. However, they have a menu you can order from and the food is made fresh for you, even for a party of one. Portions are of good size. The food has a signature taste of its own. Not like most places where you can go and say eh it kind of tastes like so and so. I think this is partially due to the freshness of the dishes. Overall this place is a good choice. They are quick even with making it fresh as it is ordered. There is not dining in, strictly take out here. I have yet to try the steam table items and honestly probably will stick to ordering..
Reviewed by: Susan C. on: 4/24/2012 3:00:00 PM
Pretty good American Chinese food, way better than panda express and tons of options. The lady was very friendly too.And apparently they deliver!
Reviewed by: Chucky D. on: 2/27/2012 2:01:00 PM
Nothing beats a Chinese food joint that has a 3.99 meal special, an old lady who berates people over the phone and really good won ton soup. This place is a nice find in a city full of Chili's/Mcd's/Red Robin chains.I'll tell you why this place, and other mom and pop's like it, stand out in Fremont. Does anyone here remember Jefferson Starship's "We built this city"? No? Am I really this old? Don't everybody rush to reassure me now.OK so, there's this 80's tune that sings of the ridiculous civics project assuring that a city was indeed built only on Rock and/or Roll. No really! It was a more amazing infrastructure project than any American wonder built from the New Deal.Where was I? Oh yes...forgive me, I reminisce about being old and remembering the 80's and.....wait. Oh. So yeah, so replace Rock and/or Roll with "Chili's, Marshal's, Food Maxx, Walmart, strip malls" and you have Fremont's infrastructure.Places like this have a good habit of breaking up that neon monotony.
Reviewed by: Linda M. on: 1/7/2012 2:39:00 PM
Got Mongolian Beef, Orange Chicken, Chow Fun Combo and Pot Stickers.It was AMAZING. seriously good. Just had it again for lunch/leftovers and it was just as good today. wow....if i could afford it, i'd get it every week.