43755 BOSCELL RD 
FREMONT, CA, 94538-5125
510-668-0898


Business Hours:
-
-
-
-
-
-
-

Ratings people have voted

 AVG:(NaN)
 AVG:(NaN)
 AVG:(NaN)
 AVG:(NaN)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(29)   

Reviewed by: Swati R. on: 3/22/2013 11:49:00 PM
This now has become my fav chinese restaurant in the area. Last two visits food has been consistent.The place is clean with nice decor.The food is not too oily, has good variety and seems fresh.Fried rice is very good, sea food hot sour soup was good.The spicy flounder was just fried fish with chilies and garlic, it does not have gravy. just so you know.Service is warm and friendly, have felt welcome.
Reviewed by: Siva L. on: 3/5/2013 1:36:00 AM
Although a bit pricy, it is one of the most tasty Chinese food I hd here. Very elegant flavor and not modified to meet local preference. And its portion is not that huge as u normally see in other places. Wl be sure to visit again and add some weight as a result of it.
Reviewed by: Amy G. on: 1/24/2013 12:51:00 AM
Mmmm Dumplings... if you're in the mood for soup dumplings this is the place to go! That little dumpling is jam packed with flavor! We also get the beef with xo sauce, duck, chicken and greens. I must say the food is pretty authentic and the service is great!
Reviewed by: Proper D. on: 1/16/2013 12:29:00 AM
Excellent little restaurant in a random, tucked away Asian plaza in Fremont serving authentic, homestyle Chinese food. This is not a cafe in the normal sense of the word, so don't come here expecting that. It is a nice, sit-down restaurant.PROS: Hands-down the best customer service I have ever received at a Chinese restaurant; Nice ambience and decor; Excellent presentation and flavors; Huge selection; No MSG; Child-friendly (lots of parents with kids here for dinner...this could also be a con!); Good draft beer selection.CONS: The ubiquitous flat screen TV taking away everyone's attention; Every dish is about $1 more than your typical Chinese place, but you get what you pay for here so this is not a big deal; The place is pretty small so you end up sitting very close to your fellow patronsBottom line: Terrible name, great food.
Reviewed by: Rita V. on: 1/2/2013 3:22:00 PM
I came here with my family for lunch, since Asian Pearl was pretty crazy and super crowded. Food Talk Cafe was a few stores down, and it was not that crowded. We were able to get a table right away. It was nice to be inside and warm, since it was freezing outside.Since I was still cold, I decided to order wonton noodle soup. The service was pretty good here. My noodle soup came out within 10 minutes. There was so many plump wontons, and they tasted great. There was enough noodles to be filling and the soup was good.I'd definitely come back here to try other dishes.
Reviewed by: Kelly C. on: 12/30/2012 7:31:00 AM
Just the highlights.PROS:Stir fried seafood noodles was delicious. Perfectly cripsy on the outside and the inside was wet and flavorful surrounded by fresh seafood.Lotus leaf rice- you get two for the price of one. It was yummy.Tofu wrap mushroom and duck appetizer - cold plate served right.CONS:Service - It can be better. We had to ask the same waitress twice for take out boxes. They forgot to bring my milk tea drink. It seems like nobody knew which table they are suppose to serve.Shanghai dumpling was disappointing. It was too big and not tasty.
Reviewed by: Cynthia A. on: 12/29/2012 2:04:00 PM
I use to love coming here. The food was tasty but even I can only give so many chances. The big no no? Hair in my porridge.. not once but 3 separate times! UGH do those people not wear hairnets in the kitchen? So gross.So 3 strikes and I say adios! *shivers*
Reviewed by: Karen P. on: 12/25/2012 8:10:00 AM
Food Talk Cafe had it's up and downs over the past year. We stop coming at one point because the food was extremely salty (as in all the dishes we ordered, not just one) ! I am glad they finally hire a new chef and revamped their menu a bit.For now I'm giving them 3 stars, I hope they maintain their current standard and keep up with the consistency!Good service, please keep up with the great work.
Reviewed by: Mg C. on: 11/25/2012 3:34:00 AM
I'm come here often to order food for lunch. I've got to say the seafood udon with black pepper is on point!
Reviewed by: Mari P. on: 11/22/2012 5:24:00 PM
Service was slow and not very attentive. However, the food was pretty tasty and if I could, I would give it 2.5 for the food. We went there on a Sat night, only 2-3 others table filled. The hostess didn't formally greet us, she just took the menus and sat us down. Come on... a smile and hi welcome doesn't hurt does it?! Then the server seemed to be spaced out in la-la land because I had to keep flagging him down for drink refills, chili paste and for our check (and again, not that crowded). They were out of my first choice of snack/appetizers and same goes with their beer selection, so we were not impressed. Then the food came out, it was piping hot (we ordered the beef house special w/ bell peppers & onions and the beef w/ those wide/flat noodles) and both had lots of flavor we cleaned out the plates. So again food they had in stock was tasty...but not sure service is worth another visit.
Reviewed by: Cindy C. on: 10/17/2012 4:06:00 PM
Love the food here!
Reviewed by: Amy T. on: 9/25/2012 12:36:00 AM
Peking Duck and Xiao Lung Bao! Those are delicious here and I definitely recommend them. Also had the Sweet and Sour Flounder and this Beef Chow Fun noodle dish. Those two were okay.Service here is good and the place looks really nice. Their bathrooms here are really fancy looking as well!
Reviewed by: Crystal H. on: 9/15/2012 12:31:00 AM
This is for the food that I ordered to-go.So I was sick with tonsillitis for a long time so all I can eat is porridge. I ended up ordering their preserved egg with pork porridge within two days. It was good, not too salty for my throat. There could be more eggs though! I think it was like $6-7. Good amount for my tummy.The staff was nice too. They offered water while we waited for our food.It closes in the afternoon for few hours in between lunch and dinner.
Reviewed by: Mike C. on: 9/9/2012 4:16:00 AM
This is the place I usually go with the family when I am in need of some Taiwanese food. It can get quite busy so coming around the early parts of lunch or dinner would probably be the way to go if you don't like to wait. They have some pretty good food and I usually order the crispy duck with bread, fried tofu, steamed dumplings, ja jang mein noodles, and some sticky rice. The parking just like the restaurant can get pretty full so again, make sure you come before the rush.
Reviewed by: Vincent L. on: 9/1/2012 4:45:00 AM
I've been here twice and only been seated once. First time, I was here the service was relatively bad even to Chinese restaurant standards. After my friends and I were seated, no one came to our table and served us for about 15 minutes after waving a server down. Typical Chinese service. We got the roasted duck, nam king chicken, and shiao long biao. Food was pretty good especially the roasted duck. I usually get this for dinner, but having it for lunch was great. Overall, this place has decent food with standard Chinese service.
Reviewed by: Perry N. on: 8/9/2012 10:57:00 PM
Went here this past weekend with the family for Chinese food after an afternoon around the South Bay. At around 7PM, the place was packed, it was the first time we had to wait in line to get into the restaurant and that was very surprising (we usually go at 5PM).To start off the service was pretty meh. We had a table of regulars sitting next to us who got the star treatment which made us feel ignored. (They also got priority seating as they knew one of the waitresses), but as we were about to complain another waitress came to take our order. The rest of the service was good as another waiter was flying around the whole room answering requests.Some of the foods I want to highlight are the Pan Fried Carrot (?) Cake and the Hot Milk Tea. Both were really good, the cake was very crispy and was delicious and the milk tea was prepared very well. One note I should add is that the Milk Tea WILL keep you up at night (I think its full of caffine or something, so beware!).The rest of the food was OK, the Hainan Chinese Rice was OK as usual, and the fried rice we got however was missing something.All in all 3/5!
Reviewed by: Anna C. on: 7/27/2012 11:49:00 AM
Quality has gone down at this place since is opening a few years ago, that's for both food + service.We came here on a Sunday morning and ordered Fish Fillet Porridge, and a few Dim Sum items.The waiter must took the wrong order because when the porridge was presented, it was with beef not fish fillets. When they corrected the order and brought out the porridge with fish fillets, there were green scallions but I specifically request no green scallions.For the same price range, there are other choices that I would go instead.
Reviewed by: Tiffany D. on: 7/27/2012 9:13:00 PM
Based on the exterior from the outside, I was not expecting the interior to look so modern-fusion Asian! I like the decor, but the ceiling or walls makes the sound volume quite dense or feel compacted.Wine Chicken in Clay Pot came out sizzling hot! Every bite of this tasty chicken was savory! BBQ Pork was succulent and their Cold Bean Curd Dish was a bit on the salty side, but it was still tolerable if you eat rice with it!Their food and service is above average in terms of modern Taiwanese cuisine dining experience. It's a great cafe for a Taiwanese meal.The restaurant's name could be renamed to make it sound more appealing or enticing to go to.
Reviewed by: Ann L. on: 7/17/2012 6:22:00 AM
2nd time trying Food Talk Cafe.We weren't very hungry, but we still managed to eat.I got Hanainese chicken ho fun noodle soup $8.50 - maybe 3 slices of chicken peices mostly wing/bone. Totally got ripped off. Huge pot of noodles, soup, & some greens. I don't recommend it.B. got pig ears again. Average.Sauteed hollow steam greens $9.95 - big pile of greens, just ok.Total $26.05 before tip. Charged it.They have an Ecolab binder - Pest elimination customer service log - great, but at least they are taking care of it - I think!
Reviewed by: Chia L. on: 7/12/2012 7:52:00 AM
It was good, but definitely not Taiwanese. If it were a regular restaurant it'd have 4 stars, but since it named itself Cantonese-Taiwanese fusion... maybe just 3.This place has a very nice interior, again rather similar to what you'd see in Taiwan. The service is slow, but they are ok nice.- Peking Duck-- not all that authentic, not enough skin and definitely not crispy or flavorful enough. Though overall it was good, especially the steamed buns.- Pan-fried buns-- very good. The chewy dough skin was nicely crispy-ed from the hot oil but the cabbage and ground pork filling inside was fluffy instead of lumped together in a big blob. One fault though is that it's super oily.- Three cup chicken-- was not authentic at all. I would say that it's good as a chicken dish, but terrible as a three-cup-chicken. It was too sweet and definitely did not have the signature flavor this famous Taiwanese dish is suppose to have.- Steamed xiao long bao (dumplings) were more of mini buns than dumplings since it had a thicker crust. It was juicy nonetheless.- Har Gao (shrimp dim sum) is.. typical.- Fried/broiled tofu was good! Very soft tofu with crispy thin crust in a pool of light soysauce/stew broth.Overall the food is decent, but only maybe one or two dishes are above average.On the pricey side though, and rather slow.
Reviewed by: Mo W. on: 6/12/2012 6:03:00 AM
I was a bit disappointed with the experience I had last night. One of the waiter, forgot one of the entrees we ordered. Then my friend's entree didn't even come until everyone else was almost finished with their food. The food is pretty decent, but the service is pretty terrible. On top of all of this, the waiter who forgot our food, had her family to come and eat at PEAK hours. Taking up a large table and invading our private space. You would think that they would be more respect to help the business right? but instead, they do the opposite.The food is pretty decent though, if you are craving for good chinese food. But you have to think to yourself, if you want to deal with the bad service.
Reviewed by: Katie L. on: 5/22/2012 9:18:00 PM
I've been here quite a few times since they first opened and have remained a fan.I highly recommend the peking duck (YUM especially with the sauce and the white bread), xiao long bao (I think they've gotten bigger), hainan chicken, and broiled tofu. My parents like the pig intestines although they've never really looked appetizing to me.Their milk teas are also pretty good and not too sugary.Minus a star for the long waits. Service can be slow when they get very busy during peak hours.
Reviewed by: Jacki C. on: 4/16/2012 8:42:00 AM
This place is overpriced, service is crappy and the food so greasy it makes you feel like you're wearing lipgloss...we went there last night hoping to find a new favorite restaurant but we were sorely disappointed...we ordered the westlake soup, peking duck, choy sum with garlic, and soy sauce chow mein.Well the peking duck was just a roast duck swimming in grease...the choy sum ended up being cailan and the westlake soup was bland...ah then came the soy sauce chow mein AKA..."lipgloss" on a plate....their Stella on tap tasted like budweiser or something else that was substituted in...don't go here...service was bad too! The restuarant was empty when we came in and requested to sit further away from the door, but they say no. WTF??? We won't be back.....If you really want lip gloss, just get it at Sephora, don't come here. You'll thank me for it...
Reviewed by: Megan L. on: 3/4/2012 8:06:00 AM
+ Decent variety of Chinese dishes - rice/noodle dishes, meat/veggie dishes to share w/ rice+ Staff made errors in my order but readily replaced my dish with the correct oneHad the BASIL EGGPLANT and WALNUT SHRIMP here on a weekday night, served with white rice. Basil eggplant was flavorful and I appreciate that it was not too oily. The server got my order wrong for the shrimp and brought out pine nut shrimp instead of the walnut shrimp. I let them know and they readily took it back to the kitchen to make me the correct dish. Unfortunately when my walnut shrimp came out, there were no walnuts to be found! I let the server know and he brought it back to the kitchen. Eventually I was served a proper walnut shrimp dish, which was tasty enough. Standard walnut shrimp, good but nothing mind-blowing. I appreciate that even though the restaurant made mistakes in my order (I was told the chef forgot to put the walnuts on the dish), the staff was apologetic and readily willing to correct the order without giving any attitude.Overall, a fairly solid place to get some standard Chinese dishes if you're in the pacific commons area.
Reviewed by: judy c. on: 3/2/2012 9:30:00 AM
They are very good at certain dishes like peking duck, chicken crispy noodles (not crazy about the other crispy noodle dishes), deep fried pig intestines, stir fried veggies, coconut pudding.Food in general is pretty decent and especially consistent in their stir fry noodle, stir fry veggies and fried rice dishes.Place gets crowded during peak lunch and dinner time ever since their grand opening. There's outside seating that is comfortable when it's not cold. Their interior design is very nicely done unlike most Chinese restaurants.
Reviewed by: Jenny A. on: 2/23/2012 10:45:00 PM
Ugh. One word: disappointed!!I ordered the JJ noodles, and it came out in a PLATE!!! Not a bowl, but a plate. And there was no boiled egg in there like there traditionally is. It was really one note too and could've used a little more salt, and idk..FLAVOR?!We also got this chow fun with egg/beef. That was good. Meat was soft, it was saucy and it was the best thing we had.We also got fried pork intestines. PUREEE FAT. We had no idea it was going to be with the skin and fat. We thought it was just going to be the intestine itself. It was so fattening that we didn't even eat it. And why was it paired with pineapple?! WEIRD.Will not be back! Direct your business to Mama Chen!!
Reviewed by: TTrraaccYY H. on: 2/10/2012 12:38:00 AM
I just love their PeiKing Duck and Chinese Dumplings.I am here almost once a week with my family.The waitress and the waiters are so nice and friendly.
Reviewed by: Aimee R. on: 1/23/2012 6:15:00 PM
They have porridge again! It's awesome!Some other items that I like to get:-Sweet and Sour Chicken-Runny Chow Fun Noodles with Egg and Shrimp-Eggplant and BasilSame great service.
Reviewed by: Tammy L. on: 1/8/2012 5:26:00 PM
Came here on Monday night around closing time. My friends and I were deciding where to eat in that plaza and we happened to stand in front of this cafe. We were reading the menus that were posted on the window. All of a sudden an asian momma literally popped out of nowhere and told us to come and sit. So forceful...must obey.As we were deciding what to order, she kept popping up, asking us if we're ready. We said no. So she came back....twice...within 5 minutes. Kinda scary...she's like my mom or something. Eccck. So we just ordered the house special fried rice and shes like ORDER THE IMPERIAL DUCK!!! Yes ma'am....so we got the imperial duck. Boy was it gooooddd! But then, the portion was kinda small. Great place for roast duck. They remove all of the fat from those crispy strips of duck skin to save you from a heart attack.Decor is nice and has a modern flavor with the dark color scheme.