1267 W 5TH AVE, COLUMBUS, OH, 43212 
614-488-2088
Casual,Dine in,Fast Food
Chinese Food

Business Hours:
Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:00am - 10:30pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:30pm
Sunday: 1:00pm - 10:00pm
We Deliver (Min. $15.00)
Restaurant Location
Number of Employees
Number of Seats
Average Price
Offers
Restaurant Type
Casual
Dine in
Fast Food
Cuisine
Chinese Food

Ratings 4 people have voted

13AVG:(3.3)
12AVG:(3.0)
14AVG:(3.5)
13AVG:(3.3)

Chinesemenu.com's Ratings & Reviews will let you know if it's worth your time or not in over 75 cities.

Comments(29)   

Reviewed by: vsvincken on: 2020/5/20 8:39:27
Thank the driver for finding me. Best lunch in a long time. Valerie @ Henderson Materials 1195 Gibbard Ave.
Reviewed by: samcarter711 on: 2020/4/17 13:48:21
Are you open currently? It is 4:50 pm on April, 17th 2020. Or are you closed due to the Coronavirus pandemic?
Reviewed by: taltiero on: 2019/4/21 15:19:09
I am the girl who you told could no longer cook my chicken brown. I need the number to call so I can get a refund.
Reviewed by: delongchloe on: 2018/8/2 16:19:38
Hi we never got our rice !
Reviewed by: marquierjd on: 2018/3/13 15:31:08
Just bought 2 buffet to go meals. Chicken has horrible after taste the noodles were a pile of mush. Called the manager said “if something looks bad dint put it on your tray” refused to give money back. Will never go back !!!!
Reviewed by: marquierjd on: 2018/3/13 15:31:00
Just bought 2 buffet to go meals. Chicken has horrible after taste the noodles were a pile of mush. Called the manager said “if something looks bad dint put it on your tray” refused to give money back. Will never go back !!!!
Reviewed by: rmfiatoa on: 2017/12/25 17:11:08
I ordered food. Got a confirmation. Called after an hour to confirm my order. Was told it was on its way. Waited an hour. Called again. Was told there was no order. Told if i wanted to order again there would be a 2 hour wait. This was a terrible experience. I can understand a 2 hour wait on Christmas. But not being lied to, then being asked to wait 4 hours. Horrible service.
Reviewed by: rausch.108 on: 2015-04-18
My delivery driver just cussed me out. He yelled the f bomb "f you" four times. I was a frequent buy
Reviewed by: Lindsay J. on: 12/26/2013 6:45:11 AM
I ordered a small General Tso's chicken ($7.25) and an order of crab Rangoon(4.50). The chicken is decent. Not the best I've had but I'd give it a solid 7. However I tend to rate Chinese food on the crab Rangoon. Again, not the best I've had but and 8. I'm happy and will return.
Reviewed by: Tricia C. on: 11/23/2013 6:19:39 AM
Completely horrified about the quality of food. I spent over $30 and when I called back today to complain was greeted w/ attitude and a "replacement" I had already explained it was my 1st time having them and that I would not be a returning customer. The "fried rice" as it's called looked like steamed rice, a dash of soy sauce for color and what could only be assumed as a few carrots I've had better food from a buffet. When I called this morning "Brian" the manager as he hesitated w/ his name didn't know the owners name or phone number even. He was disrespectful and other than wanting to bring me replacements could not give me my money back. I will never eat here again nor would I recommend it to anyone. I do not give this place any stars (but am being made to by YELP)due to poor management, poor food quality and complete lack of satisfying the customer!
Reviewed by: sweber434 on: 2013-11-11
No rice. No drink. No receipt. No answer when I called. Worst timing ever to forget the rice. :(
Reviewed by: Jey J. on: 10/15/2013 3:49:48 AM
Atmosphere is less than desirable. Employees are rude, short with you, and act like you don't know what you're talking about. Food is sub par. There are many other locations for comparable and better food than Happy House. I will not be returning.
Reviewed by: leejs1 on: 2013-10-07
white rice on sesame chicken please
Reviewed by: vanessamicic on: 2013-10-01
LOVE the fried rice and plenty of other great dishes too! Price point is great!
Reviewed by: Evalyn W. on: 8/6/2013 11:44:47 AM
I've ordered from Happy House a couple times - against the recommendation of some friends - and have been neither thrilled nor dissatisfied. It's pretty standard Chinese fast food. Salty, greasy, hot, usually pretty yummy if it happens to be what you're craving. I wouldn't go out proclaiming it the best around, but it's the only place that actually delivers near my house and when I'm feeling lazy and don't want to run out to grab food, getting delivery is a major selling point.
Reviewed by: Stephanie B. on: 7/4/2013 2:52:27 AM
Today was the first time I ever ordered from Happy House and I am pleasantly surprised. I'm picky when it comes to Chinese food but this place is great!I ordered the chicken corn soup, pad thai, and fried wontons. I was hoping the portions would be bigger as I wanted to have leftovers for tomorrow and they were definitely huge.The chicken corn soup was interesting. It was kind of like egg drop soup but a little sweeter with chicken and corn. I absolutely loved it. It was something different that I would definitely order again. I had the smallest portion which was like less than two bucks. It was actually a decent size that was pretty filling.I wouldn't say the pad thai is the best I've ever had but it's definitely delicious. I got it with the chicken, shrimp, and pork. Everything was cooked to perfection. The portion that they give you is HUGE. I felt like I didn't even put a dent in it and I had quite a bit. The egg that they put into the pad thai is really good as well.The fried wontons were decent. Next time, I would get the crab rangoons as those are my favorite but thought the wontons were a better deal for how many you get. They came with an orange sauce that tasted great.Overall, I'm really glad that I found this place as it is reasonably priced and you are getting a lot of food. Delivery was quick too - he got here in probably a half an hour or so. Awesome food for an awesome price. You can't really beat that!
Reviewed by: Joel Z. on: 2/18/2013 11:24:00 AM
The food is your standard Chinese American food. The chicken is a mix of white and dark meat, so ask for all white meat if you are picky about your chicken. They will honor your requests.The General Tsos is good, the sauce is flavorful and a bit sweet. The breading actually has some crisp to it which I like. I enjoy it.I really like the noodle dishes they have. The rice noodles are filling and tasty!Nothing fancy, just straight forward Chinese food. Is there better, sure, is there worse, oh yes. I recommend you skip this place if you feel your a foodie or feel like you need something special to enjoy your lunch. If you just want some tasty Chinese food to fill you up on a cold day, you'll be very pleased.They also offer delivery, as well as online ordering which is a great perk. I can order online, hope in the car, and its ready when I arrive and its always hot!
Reviewed by: Kelsey N. on: 12/10/2012 2:31:00 PM
I have very good experiences at Happy House, I have tried several items including the Cashew Chicken and Kung Pao chicken. The amount of food you get for 8.75 is a really good deal. The chicken has never been "scary" to eat like some other quick service Chinese food...The crab rangoons are so delicious and my roommate really enjoyed the chicken fried rice. Service is always very fast and friendly. I wish they did not have a spending minimum for delivery! Overall, maybe sketchy looking on the outside but good Chinese quick service and great prices. Definitely the best I have had in Grandview
Reviewed by: Colleen R. on: 9/25/2012 4:14:00 AM
Happy House is a pretty standard Chinese restaurant. I have had orange chicken and general tso's. Although these are your standard americanized Chinese dishes, I enjoyed them both. The sauce gets very thick after it sits at room temperature for about 20 minutes though. I love fried rice which is better here than most places. The prices during lunch time are unbeatable. $7 for a pretty large portion with a drink! I would definitely go here again, but it is pretty standard overall.
Reviewed by: Mike G. on: 6/16/2012 2:31:00 PM
My friend Darlene asked me out to get some Phad Thai she was craving....so I immediately craved it too. Me being a gentleman and not being one to miss out on a free meal, I accepted.Both of us got the Phad Thai, hers pork, mine chicken. It's a counter service restaurant, didn't take too long and the guy was very polite and helpful.The Phad Thai itself was good but odd. They made it with angel hair pasta instead of the rice noodles.....I don't know why, I didn't ask.The portion was a large, which it was. Half is still sitting in my refrigerator for lunch tomorrow. Value alert!So, worth checking out if you find yourself going down Fifth Avenue sometime and you feel the need for some cheap good food.
Reviewed by: Amy B. on: 6/7/2012 9:19:00 AM
I ordered some sort of shrimp dish. It was literally five or six shrimp in a sea of sliced onions. One or two slices of green pepper. But basically an entree comprised entirely of onion that I paid nine bucks for.Nope.
Reviewed by: Jackie P. on: 4/27/2012 10:10:00 AM
Simply put, no thanks.I figured I would try Happy House since I was in the area and craving some artery clogging Chinese food. From the outside, this place seemed sketchy enough to where I figured it would roll out some pretty decent grub! But sadly, I was disappointed.The place itself isn't that bad. Quite a few tables if you are dining in, and a round table full of newspapers to pass the time if you were ordering take-out. Compared to other Chinese fast food places I frequent, the portions here were smaller, and at the same price. I prefer only having enough for one meal (I hate leftovers), so this was actually a plus for me.I ordered the General Tso's - not my favorite dish, but it is standard fare and I wanted to play it safe. Let's just say, the chicken was tough and chewy. It didn't even feel like actual meat. Multiple pieces were just inedible.I'll just stick to my No.1
Reviewed by: Richie W. on: 2/17/2012 3:23:00 AM
When I got to happy house it looked like a real fast food Chinese establishment. The food menu is pasted on the wall with various pictures and prices. When I visit a new Chinese place I like to order something common so I can compare cooking styles, flavor and quality. I ordered the Pad Thai.The results, well not exactly good, At first, I found the noodles to be very dry tried to mix it up a bit. This did not help at all. Although some more flavor presented itself, it seemed very tangy and not very pleasing to my pallet.Probably will not be back, so many other different places to try in the area.
Reviewed by: bmwkobe on: 2007-06-05
I visit this place several times a week for lunch. The lunch specials are $4.25 (carry out and about 4.50 for dine in due to tax) and there is a selection of perhaps 20 dishes. Some are spicy and there is a variety of beef/chicken/shrimp ...?
Reviewed by: JAMEELAH H. on: 2007-12-17
Little Dragons Chinese Restaurant food is delicious with easy mouthful. The Food was absolutely both pleasing to the eyes while pairing it delicious flavours to the smell. ...?
Reviewed by: E.Rock on: 2009-05-14
I love this place. It makes me happy at least once a weak. Everything on the menu is great, especially the hot & sour soup. The lunch special is a great deal, but so is any large meal because it's sure to leave you with leftovers. ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2009-10-03
Happy House is the best for chinese food near the OSU campus. Usually a delivery takes no more than 30 minutes which is fast compared to every other delivery place. I can't complain about the food either, I have always had a good meal there.?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2009-12-17
I used to work in German Village, and the weekly Chinese lunch place was Happy Dragon. Now that we've moved to Grandview, our new place is Happy House, and boy is it good! I agree with Cyxn that it's a little sweet, but I like it that way and my General Tso's is NEVER dry (unlike at the Dragon). With $5.25 lunch combos made in ~5 minutes, you can't beat it!?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2007-07-07
Affordable Chinese food for people on budgets or students. Service is fast and polite without too much chit-chat. Ambience is quiet and peaceful. Prices are unbelievable. Portions will fill you up. Amazing eggrolls. Lots of choices, many different meats, very customizable. Good spice dishes as well. Lunch specials are a steal. Dine-in, carry out, or call in and pick up. No questions, just go.?