(Close), (Close), MD, (Close) 
American-Chinese

Business Hours:
Mon.-Fri.:10:00am-10:00pm
Sat. & Sun.:11:00am-10:00pm
Restaurant Location
Small city, town, or suburb
Number of Employees
5+
Number of Seats
50
Average Price
Less than $5.99
Cuisine
American-Chinese

Ratings 5 people have voted

Awards and Honors

25AVG:(5.0)
25AVG:(5.0)
25AVG:(5.0)
23AVG:(4.6)
For the Top 100 Restaurants
Top100 Regional Chinese Cuisines  (2008)

Comments(9)   

Reviewed by: amli_30033 on: 2014-05-28
This Taste of China is my favorite Chinese restaurant here in Baltimore. You can make your own choices as healthy and tasty as you like. Besides, very nice people work there for you.
Reviewed by: Javad A. on: 2/7/2013 7:07:00 AM
Taste of China is a misnomer. Sure it is Chinese take out, but it does not taste anything like China.Their lunch special costs only $5, but its loaded to the brim with tasteless white rice. The meat is always too greasy and covered in too much syrup.If you decide to dine in, make sure to bring cash. They have a $10 minimum for transactions.
Reviewed by: Leslie K. on: 12/19/2012 9:39:00 PM
As one of the few places to eat around the Hospital, this was one of the only things open after 5pm.The first thing I noticed was the small portions. It's not an expensive meal, but they skimp on servings all around and meat on my boyfriend's dish (I'm vegetarian). I'd rate this as a very tiny half step above Panda Express, but more hole-in-the-wall. It has the same MSG/greasy but not in a good way/bland lazy "Chinese" food.I wouldn't go again unless I was really desperate.One plus: proximity to the medical campus and it's open later than most other things in that area.
Reviewed by: Thao N. on: 8/11/2012 1:12:00 PM
WORST CHINESE FOOD EVER. I usually don't even get Chinese food when I come here... I get the fried chicken.Don't bother with the fries, they are like the crappy frozen fries you buy from the store.Chow fun sucks. Don't get the "fried rice"- you're better off making it at home.OK: ginger fish.
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2009-11-20
Great place to eat Chinese food in town. Affordable, especially less than $5 prices at lunch. Get your food in about 10 minutes. Highly recommended!?
Reviewed by: Svati L. on: 2008-11-07
Taste of China is located right off the Hopkins medical campus and is a favorite spot to pick up a nice hot lunch. You can call ahead with your order and they'll have it ready by the time you arrive. They also cater many events in the ...?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2008-10-02
Good, economical, and fast for take out Chinese food. They also have a couple of Thai dishes that are good.?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2008-09-10
I ordered food that was less than $10 and they refused me stating that I had to make a mininum purchase of $10. I explained to them that it was illegal to charge a minimum and they ignored me and proceeded to take the next customer. VISA/MC rules state: Imposing minimum or maximum purchase amounts in order to accept VISA/MC transaction is a violation of the rules and is prohibited. I called VISA and MasterCard and reported this merchant to them.?
Reviewed by: Anonymous on: 2008-08-01
Looks awful at first sight, but I've never had any problems with that carry-out chinese restaurant (you can dine in, but honnestly, nothing makes you want to). Food is good and sane. I have never been ill after eating there. And the staff from the Johns Hopkins Hospital keeps coming, so I guess I'm not the only one to think so. Probably the best place to eat in that deserted area.?